Album info

Album-Release:
2018

HRA-Release:
08.11.2018

Album including Album cover

?

Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 12.80
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 - 1750):
  • 1Sinfonia (From Christmas Oratorio, BWV 248)05:58
  • 2"Wir singen Dir in Deinem Heer" (From Christmas Oratorio, BWV 248)01:19
  • Georg Friedrich Händel (1685 - 1759):
  • 3Pifa (From Messiah, HWV 56)02:38
  • Johann David Heinichen (1683 - 1729):
  • 4Pastorale per la notte di Natale04:56
  • Antonio Vivaldi (1678 - 1741): Violin Concerto in E Major, RV 270 "per il S. Natale":
  • 5Violin Concerto in E Major, RV 270 "per il S. Natale": I. Allegro05:28
  • 6Violin Concerto in E Major, RV 270 "per il S. Natale": II. Adagio01:01
  • 7Violin Concerto in E Major, RV 270 "per il S. Natale": III. Allegro02:19
  • Arcangelo Corelli (1653 - 1713):
  • 8Allegro. Largo (From Concerto grosso, Op. 6 No. 8)05:22
  • Georg Philipp Telemann (1681 - 1767):
  • 9Siciliano (From Oboe Concerto, TWV 51:A2)02:32
  • Francesco Manfredini (1684 - 1762):
  • 10Largo (From Concerto gross, Op. 3 No. 12)03:51
  • Antonio Vivaldi (1678 - 1741):
  • 11Domine Deus (From Gloria, RV 589)03:14
  • Johann Baer (1655 - 1700):
  • 12Siciliano (From Concerto a 4 in B Major)01:42
  • Johann Georg Röllig (1710 - 1790):
  • 13Siciliano (From Concerto in D Major)04:02
  • Johann Joachim Quantz (1697 - 1773):
  • 14Siciliano (From Concerto in E-Flat Major)03:01
  • Antonio Vivaldi (1678 - 1741)
  • 15Larghetto (From Concerto, RV 539)02:18
  • Michael Praetorius (1571 - 1621):
  • 16In Dulci Jubilo (From Musae Sioniae) [Arg. Ludwig Güttler]07:03
  • Joseph Haydn (1732 - 1809):
  • 17Andante (From Trumpet Concerto, Hob. VIIe:1)04:06
  • Georg Friedrich Händel (1685 - 1759):
  • 18"He shall feed his flock" (From Messiah, HWV 56)04:54
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 - 1750):
  • 19Larghetto (From Concerto, BWV 1055)05:05
  • Franz Xaver Gruber (1787 - 1863):
  • 20Stille Nacht, Heilige Nacht02:52
  • Total Runtime01:13:41

Info for Stille Nacht, Heilige Nacht



200 years ago in a small Austrian village, the world's most famous Christmas carol was created. Ludwig Güttler, who celebrated his 75th birthday this year, is commemorating this special anniversary with a special edition.

Take time in the summer to think about the winter, country folk would say. That is just as true of albums compiled to celebrate the happiest days of the year. In this record-breaking sultry summer, Ludwig Güttler has been giving some thought to how to celebrate the 200th aniversary of this global song appropriately. "It is one of the first carols I learned to play on the accordion, a present I was given for Christmas after my fifth birthday," recalls Ludwig Güttler, who remembers that when he was a child, everybody sang along. In fact it took him a long time to understand how anybody sitting in church could stay still to the sound of "Stille Nacht".

It is said to have been sung for the first time at Midnight Mass on Christmas night 1818 in the little town of Oberndorf near Salzburg, conceived by organist Franz Xaver Gruber and assistant priest Joseph Mohr. A song whose text may not be great literature, but has a tune that moves people and stirs them all over the world. Ludwig Güttler is especially at home in the 17th- and 18th-century vocal-instrumental music that flourished in Europe on both sides of the Alps. "I want to present a selection that shows how this Christmas song came to be written, and I have sought to depict the musical world that inspired its Oberndorf composers," explains Güttler.

In addition to the best recordings from his gigantic catalogue, there are also recordings that have not yet been publihed: Güttler has arranged "Silent Night, Holy Night!" for his brass ensemble, clad each of the six verses in an instrumental garb of its own and recorded it in the summer in Zwettl in Austria. He begins with a solo for Waldhorn, after which the melody instrument keeps changing, while various groupings add colour and diversity. The sheer variety of combinations in the brass ensemble are perceptible and intriguing. Right at the end there is a play on the echo, dying away for ever and for ever – altogether in accord with a song destined for eternity and providing impetus for reflection on the meaning of life.

Ludwig Güttler, trumpet
Blechbläserensemble Ludwig Güttler
Virtuosi Saxoniae

No albums found.

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO

Album info

Album-Release:
2018

HRA-Release:
08.11.2018

Album including Album cover

?

Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 15.00
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 - 1750):
  • 1Sinfonia (From Christmas Oratorio, BWV 248)05:58
  • 2"Wir singen Dir in Deinem Heer" (From Christmas Oratorio, BWV 248)01:19
  • Georg Friedrich Händel (1685 - 1759):
  • 3Pifa (From Messiah, HWV 56)02:38
  • Johann David Heinichen (1683 - 1729):
  • 4Pastorale per la notte di Natale04:56
  • Antonio Vivaldi (1678 - 1741): Violin Concerto in E Major, RV 270 "per il S. Natale":
  • 5Violin Concerto in E Major, RV 270 "per il S. Natale": I. Allegro05:28
  • 6Violin Concerto in E Major, RV 270 "per il S. Natale": II. Adagio01:01
  • 7Violin Concerto in E Major, RV 270 "per il S. Natale": III. Allegro02:19
  • Arcangelo Corelli (1653 - 1713):
  • 8Allegro. Largo (From Concerto grosso, Op. 6 No. 8)05:22
  • Georg Philipp Telemann (1681 - 1767):
  • 9Siciliano (From Oboe Concerto, TWV 51:A2)02:32
  • Francesco Manfredini (1684 - 1762):
  • 10Largo (From Concerto gross, Op. 3 No. 12)03:51
  • Antonio Vivaldi (1678 - 1741):
  • 11Domine Deus (From Gloria, RV 589)03:14
  • Johann Baer (1655 - 1700):
  • 12Siciliano (From Concerto a 4 in B Major)01:42
  • Johann Georg Röllig (1710 - 1790):
  • 13Siciliano (From Concerto in D Major)04:02
  • Johann Joachim Quantz (1697 - 1773):
  • 14Siciliano (From Concerto in E-Flat Major)03:01
  • Antonio Vivaldi (1678 - 1741)
  • 15Larghetto (From Concerto, RV 539)02:18
  • Michael Praetorius (1571 - 1621):
  • 16In Dulci Jubilo (From Musae Sioniae) [Arg. Ludwig Güttler]07:03
  • Joseph Haydn (1732 - 1809):
  • 17Andante (From Trumpet Concerto, Hob. VIIe:1)04:06
  • Georg Friedrich Händel (1685 - 1759):
  • 18"He shall feed his flock" (From Messiah, HWV 56)04:54
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 - 1750):
  • 19Larghetto (From Concerto, BWV 1055)05:05
  • Franz Xaver Gruber (1787 - 1863):
  • 20Stille Nacht, Heilige Nacht02:52
  • Total Runtime01:13:41

Info for Stille Nacht, Heilige Nacht

Vor 200 Jahren in einem kleinen österreichischen Dorf wurde das berühmteste Weihnachtslied der Welt geschaffen. Ludwig Güttler, der dieses Jahr seinen 75. Geburtstag gefeiert hat, bedenkt dieses besondere Jubiläum mit einer besonderen Edition.

Denk' im Sommer an den Winter, gemahnt eine alte Bauernregel. Das gilt ebenso für Alben, die zum schönsten Fest des Jahres vorliegen sollen. So stellte sich mitten im Hochsommer Ludwig Güttler die Frage, wie man den 200. Geburtstag eines so globalen Liedes wie Stille Nacht, Heilige Nacht angemessen würdigen kann. "Es ist eines der ersten Weihnachtslieder, die ich selbst auf der Ziehharmonika spielte. Die hatte ich nach meinem fünften Geburtstag zu Weihnachten geschenkt bekommen", erinnert sich Ludwig Güttler, wie auch daran, dass in seiner Kindheit jeder das Lied mitgesungen hatte. Mehr noch: Er konnte sich lange nicht vorstellen, dass jemand, in der Kirche sitzend, bei "Stille Nacht" regungslos bleibt.

Überlieferungen zufolge wurde es im Rahmen einer Christmette 1818 in dem kleinen Ort Oberndorf bei Salzburg zum ersten Mal gesungen, erdacht von Franz Xaver Gruber, der in jenen Jahren dort die Orgel spielte, und dem Hilfspriester Joseph Mohr. Ein Lied, dessen Text nicht zur Weltliteratur zählt, doch im Gewand dieser Musik Herzen in aller Welt berührt und bewegt. Ludwig Güttler, der zum Großteil in der Welt des 17. und 18 Jahrhunderts zuhause ist, ist wie kein zweiter dazu in der Lage, den musikalischen Hintergrund dieses Liedes zu verdeutlichen. "Ich will eine Auswahl zu Gehör bringen, auf deren kulturellen Schultern dieses Lied entstanden ist, und habe versucht, eine musikalische Welt zu skizzieren, die die Verfasser in Oberndorf vorfanden", so Güttler über seine Motivation.

Neben den besten Aufnahmen aus seinem gigantischen Katalog finden sich auch noch nicht veröffentlichte Einspielungen. Güttler hat "Stille Nacht! Heilige Nacht!" für sein Blechbläserensemble arrangiert, jede der sechs Strophen in ein eigenes instrumentales Gewand gehüllt und im Sommer im österreichischen Zwettl aufgenommen. Es beginnt mit einem Waldhorn-Solo, später wechselt das Melodieinstrument immer wieder, verschiedene Gruppierungen sorgen für Farbigkeit. Die Vielfalt der Möglichkeiten des Blechbläserensembles wird erfahrbar und macht neugierig. Ganz am Ende steht ein Spiel mit dem Echo, ein Verklingen ohne Ende. Ganz im Sinne eines Liedes, bestimmt für eine Ewigkeit und immer wieder Impuls für Besinnung auf das, was das Leben ausmacht.

Ludwig Güttler, Trompete
Blechbläserensemble Ludwig Güttler
Virtuosi Saxoniae



No albums found.

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO