Offenbach & Gulda: Cello Concertos Edgar Moreau

Cover Offenbach & Gulda: Cello Concertos

Album info



Label: Warner Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Jacques Offenbach (1819 - 1880): Grand Concerto for Cello in G Major, "Concerto Militaire":
  • 1Offenbach: Grand Concerto for Cello in G Major, "Concerto Militaire": I. Allegro maestoso14:38
  • 2Offenbach: Grand Concerto for Cello in G Major, "Concerto Militaire": II. Andante09:46
  • 3Offenbach: Grand Concerto for Cello in G Major, "Concerto Militaire": III. Allegretto18:07
  • Friedrich Gulda (1930 - 2000): Concerto for Cello, Wind Orchestra and Band, Op. 129:
  • 4Gulda: Concerto for Cello, Wind Orchestra and Band, Op. 129: I. Overture05:00
  • 5Gulda: Concerto for Cello, Wind Orchestra and Band, Op. 129: II. Idylle07:52
  • 6Gulda: Concerto for Cello, Wind Orchestra and Band, Op. 129: III. Cadenza07:27
  • 7Gulda: Concerto for Cello, Wind Orchestra and Band, Op. 129: IV. Menuett04:00
  • 8Gulda: Concerto for Cello, Wind Orchestra and Band, Op. 129: V. Finale alla marcia06:42
  • Total Runtime01:13:32

Info for Offenbach & Gulda: Cello Concertos

Eine Kombination, die funktioniert: Wenn die Musikwelt im Juni 2019 den 200. Geburtstag von Jacques Offenbach feiert, dann gedenkt man des „Erfinders“ der Operette, des Satirikers, der im französischen „Second Empire“ der Gesellschaft spöttisch den Spiegel vorgehalten hat. Doch abseits solcher Operettenhits wie Orpheus in der Unterwelt oder Pariser Leben war Offenbach auch der Schöpfer eines äußerst reizvollen Konzertes für Violoncello und Orchester. Der Cellist Egdar Moreau und das Orchester Les Forces Majeures unter Raphaël Merlin präsentieren diese fast vergessene Perle nun an der Seite einer anderen Repertoire-Legende: Friedrich Guldas Cellokonzert von 1980. Sie lebten in verschiedenen Jahrhunderten, aber die spöttische Grundhaltung haben Offenbach und Gulda gemeinsam. Gulda, eigentlich als Pianist bekannt und in späteren Jahren immer mehr als Provokateur berühmt, verband in seinem Konzert für Cello, Blasorchester und Band von 1980 Klassik mit Jazzrock, alpenländischer Volksmusik und vielen perfekt platzierten ‚U-Musik‘-Einschlägen. Mit schnippischem Lächeln brachte er auf die Klassik-Bühne, was dort nach Meinung vieler nichts verloren hat – und schuf prompt ein bis heute berüchtigtes Skandalwerk. Offenbach hatte in seiner Jugend seine Musikerlaufbahn als Cellist begonnen. Um seine Künste angemessen zu inszenieren komponierte er mit Ende zwanzig im Jahre 1847 sein einziges Cello-Konzert für sich selbst. Lange vor den Erfolgen in der Operettengattung trägt es bereits die typische Handschrift des gebürtigen Kölners und Wahlfranzosen – so etwa in der von einer Trommel begleiteten Kadenz und im mitreißenden Tonfall des Finales.

Edgar Moreau, Cello
Les Forces Majeures
Raphael Merlin, Dirigent

Edgar Moreau The French cellist Edgar Moreau, who turned 21 in 2015, can already look back on a number of exceptional achievements, among them becoming the winner – at the age of just 17 – of the Second Prize in Russia’s formidable Tchaikovsky Competition, winning the Young Soloist Prize in the 2009 Rostropovich Cello Competition in Paris, and performing with such distinguished musicians as Valery Gergiev, Gidon Kremer, András Schiff, Yuri Bashmet, Krzysztof Penderecki, Gustavo Dudamel, Renaud Capuçon, Nicholas Angelich, Frank Braley, Khatia Buniatishvili, Gérard Caussé and the Talich Quartet. In 2013 his huge potential was highlighted by France’s top music awards, Les Victoires de la Musique, which named him the year’s ‘Révélation’ among young classical instrumentalists.

He released his debut album in March 2014 on Erato with pianist Pierre-Yves Hodique: Play is a collection of short pieces and brilliant encores from Popper, Paganini, Chopin, Saint-Saëns, Fauré, Dvořák, Massenet, Schubert, Poulenc and Tchaikovsky among others. His follow-up album, Giovincello, presents 18th-century cello concertos recorded with the Italian Baroque ensemble Il Pomo d'Oro.

A Parisian by birth, Edgar Moreau first realised he wanted to play the cello when he was just four years old – the instrument caught his imagination when he saw a girl having a cello lesson in an antique shop he was visiting with his father. He began lessons soon afterwards, and was giving concerts with major orchestras by the time he was 11 years old. Since the age of 13 he has been a student at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique in Paris. He has participated in masterclasses given by such cellists as Lynn Harrell, Anner Bylsma, Miklós Perényi, Gary Hoffman and David Geringas, and since October 2013 has been attending the Kronberg Academy near Frankfurt – home to the Emanuel Feuermann Conservatory, named after the legendary Ukrainian-born cellist.

When the editor of the international music website Bachtrack saw Edgar Moreau perform in Gstaad in early 2013, he had the following to say: “One always comes to a young musician’s concert with a hope that this will be that special day when you hear a performer who you are absolutely sure will be a star of the future. That hope only comes to fruition on a small number of occasions: this concert was one of them. I'm willing to take bets that nineteen year-old Parisian cellist Edgar Moreau is going to have a glittering career ... His playing is muscular and he throws himself into the music ... and Moreau has bags of stage presence, with a flexible face which can turn from smile to grimace and back in an instant but always shows deep involvement with the music ... Even at such a young age, Moreau can completely win over an audience with his big sound and no-holds-barred style. I think he's going to be a winner.”

Booklet for Offenbach & Gulda: Cello Concertos

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO