A Walk With Ivor Gurney Tenebrae & Nigel Short

Cover A Walk With Ivor Gurney

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Signum Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Interpret: Tenebrae & Nigel Short

Komponist: Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958), Gerald Finzi, Ivor Gurney (1890-1937), Herbert Howells, Judith Bingham

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 12,40
  • Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872 - 1958):
  • 1Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis14:16
  • Herbert Howells (1892 - 1983):
  • 2Like as the hart07:09
  • Ivor Gurney (1890 - 1937):
  • 3Since I Believe in God the Father Almighty05:49
  • Judith Bingham (1952 - ):
  • 4A Walk With Ivor Gurney12:15
  • Ivor Gurney (1890 - 1937):
  • 5By a Bierside (arr. H. Howells for voice and orchestra)04:28
  • 6In Flanders (arr. H. Howells for voice and orchestra)03:15
  • 75 Elizabethan Songs (text by J. Fletcher) (arr. G. Finzi for voice and orchestra): 5 Elizabethan Songs: No. 4. Sleep (arr. G. Finzi for voice and orchestra) 03:32
  • Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872 - 1958):
  • 8An Oxford Elegy22:51
  • 9Valiant for Truth05:24
  • 10Lord, Thou hast been our refuge08:18
  • Total Runtime01:27:17

Info zu A Walk With Ivor Gurney

Tenebrae and Nigel Short are joined by Aurora Orchestra together with mezzo-soprano Dame Sarah Connolly and narrator Simon Callow for A Walk with Ivor Gurney, an album celebrating the music of Ivor Gurney whose promising career as a composer was interrupted by World War I. Alongside four pieces of Gurney’s own music are works by his contemporaries, Ralph Vaughan Williams and Herbert Howells. The recording features a new piece by Judith Bingham commissioned by Tenebrae in 2013 for the choir with Dame Sarah Connolly.

"A nourishing, thoughtfully compiled release… On this premiere recording, Sarah Connolly teams up with Tenebrae under Nigel Short’s watchful lead to give a performance of breathtaking composure, spine-tingling atmosphere and palpable conviction." (Gramophone Magazine)

Aurora Orchestra
Dame Sarah Connolly, mezzo soprano
Simon Callow, narrator
Nigel Short, conductor

Keine Biografie vorhanden.

Booklet für A Walk With Ivor Gurney

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO