Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsodies, Nos. 12-17 (Original Versions) Carlo Grante

Cover Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsodies, Nos. 12-17 (Original Versions)

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Naxos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 96 $ 15,00
  • Franz Liszt (1811 - 1886): Rhapsodies hongroises, S. 242:
  • 1No. 12, Héroïde élégiaque. Mesto09:02
  • 2No. 13, Tempo di marcia "Rákóczy March"06:32
  • 3No. 14, Lento a capriccio07:03
  • 4No. 15, Lento tempo e stilo zingarese09:10
  • 5No. 16, Preludio - Andante deciso05:42
  • 6No. 17, Andante sostenuto08:22
  • Ungarische Nationalmelodien, S. 243b:
  • 7No. 1, Tempo giusto01:39
  • 8No. 2, Animato00:29
  • 9No. 3, Prelude. Allegretto01:35
  • 19 Hungarian Rhapsodies, S. 244:
  • 10No. 10 in E Major "Preludio" (Alternative Version)05:30
  • Puszta-Wehmut, S. 246 "Die Werbung":
  • 11Puszta-Wehmut, S. 246 "Die Werbung"03:35
  • Total Runtime58:39

Info zu Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsodies, Nos. 12-17 (Original Versions)

Franz Liszt was born in Raiding, Hungary, and gypsy music fascinated him from childhood. After studies, concert tours and romantic adventures abroad, Liszt returned to his native country in 1839 and was hailed as a champion of its national identity. This program presents Liszt’s original Hungarian Rhapsodies from the Magyar Dalok collection, introducing themes used in later volumes. The inspiration he found in gypsy music-making created virtuoso piano works that assimilate its melancholy drama and wild dances, imitating local rhythms and colorful instruments such as the cimbalom, and elaborating on melodies of the day in a refined and spectacular act of national storytelling.

Carlo Grante, piano

Carlo Grante
is one of Italy’s foremost concert pianists. He has performed in such major venues as the Vienna Musikverein, the Berlin Philharmonie’s Chamber Music Hall, London’s Wigmore Hall and Barbican Hall, Rome’s Santa Cecilia Hall, the Leipzig Gewandhaus, the Dresden Semperoper, the Stuttgart Opera, Prague’s Rudolfinum, as well as at Lincoln Center and the Kennedy Center in the US. He has appeared as soloist with major orchestras including the Dresden Staatskapelle, London’s Royal Philharmonic, the Vienna Symphony, Orchestra of St. Cecilia, MDR Leipzig, the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, and Concertino Wien. Grante gave the first live performance of all 53 of Godowsky’s Studies on the Études of Chopin at the Newport Festival. In 2014-15 his series “Masters of High Romanticism”, featuring three recital programmes each devoted to Chopin, Schumann and Brahms, was taken to major halls in New York, Vienna and Berlin. Though best known perhaps for his Scarlatti, Mozart, Chopin, Schumann, Liszt, Busoni, Debussy and Godowsky, Grante has had many contemporary works dedicated to him, including Adolphe’s Chopin Dreams. He has brought out nearly 50 recordings; discs devoted to the works of Scarlatti, Busoni, Schubert, Brahms, Godowsky and Adolphe are forthcoming. He will give the world premiere of Bruce Adolphe’s piano concerto in Zurich in July 2016.

The New York Met’s Principal Conductor Fabio Luisi wrote of him in 2015 that “Carlo Grante is one of the most astonishing artists I have ever known and worked with.” The principal critic of Vienna’s Die Presse dubbed him “a knight of the piano, without blemish and without fear.”

Booklet für Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsodies, Nos. 12-17 (Original Versions)

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO