Cover Busoni: Orchestral Works

Album info



Label: Chandos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 17.50
  • Ferruccio Busoni (1866 - 1924): Orchestral Suite No. 2, Op. 34a, BV 242 "Geharnischte Suite":
  • 1Orchestral Suite No. 2, Op. 34a, BV 242 "Geharnischte Suite": I. Prelude05:52
  • 2Orchestral Suite No. 2, Op. 34a, BV 242 "Geharnischte Suite": II. War Dance03:26
  • 3Orchestral Suite No. 2, Op. 34a, BV 242 "Geharnischte Suite": III. Funeral Monument05:30
  • 4Orchestral Suite No. 2, Op. 34a, BV 242 "Geharnischte Suite": IV. Assault06:50
  • Berceuse élégiaque, Op. 42, BV 252a:
  • 5Berceuse élégiaque, Op. 42, BV 252a07:43
  • Clarinet Concertino, Op. 48, BV 276:
  • 6Clarinet Concertino, Op. 48, BV 276: I. Allegretto sostenuto02:52
  • 7Clarinet Concertino, Op. 48, BV 276: II. Andantino03:29
  • 8Clarinet Concertino, Op. 48, BV 276: III. Allegro sostenuto02:17
  • 9Clarinet Concertino, Op. 48, BV 276: IV. Allegro01:29
  • Sarabande & Cortège, Op. 51, BV 282 "2 Studies for Doktor Faust":
  • 10Sarabande & Cortège, Op. 51, BV 282 "2 Studies for Doktor Faust": Sarabande09:46
  • 11Sarabande & Cortège, Op. 51, BV 282 "2 Studies for Doktor Faust": Cortège07:35
  • Tanzwalzer, Op. 53, BV 288:
  • 12Tanzwalzer, Op. 53, BV 288: Introduction. Andante01:52
  • 13Tanzwalzer, Op. 53, BV 288: I. —02:31
  • 14Tanzwalzer, Op. 53, BV 288: II. Più vivo00:56
  • 15Tanzwalzer, Op. 53, BV 288: III. Tempo I03:04
  • 16Tanzwalzer, Op. 53, BV 288: IV. —04:07
  • Lustspielouvertüre, Op. 38, BV 245:
  • 17Lustspielouvertüre, Op. 38, BV 24506:28
  • Indianische Fantasie, Op. 44, BV 264:
  • 18Indianische Fantasie, Op. 44, BV 26423:19
  • Gesang vom Reigen der Geister, Op. 47, BV 269:
  • 19Gesang vom Reigen der Geister, Op. 47, BV 26907:14
  • Die Brautwahl, Op. 45, BV 261:
  • 20Die Brautwahl, Op. 45, BV 261: I. Spukhaftes Stück03:16
  • 21Die Brautwahl, Op. 45, BV 261: II. Lyrisches Stück06:31
  • 22Die Brautwahl, Op. 45, BV 261: III. Mystisches Stück05:42
  • 23Die Brautwahl, Op. 45, BV 261: IV. Hebräisches Stück08:19
  • 24Die Brautwahl, Op. 45, BV 261: V. Heiteres Stück03:18
  • Total Runtime02:13:26

Info for Busoni: Orchestral Works

This special re-issue gathers the two albums in Neeme Järvi’s exploration, with the BBC Philharmonic, of the unjustly neglected works of the Italian composer Ferruccio Busoni.

Those two volumes, sold here for the price of one, were released to critical acclaim in 2002 and 2005, respectively. The Gramophone reviewer stated: ‘Järvi’s performances on his two Busoni collections are the most consistently sympathetic I’ve heard in some years and they’re sure – not least because of the series’ comprehensiveness – to enhance Busoni’s reputation as an orchestral composer.’

The set spans the varied musical life of an iconic twentieth-century composer, who around WWI shifted from a late romantic style (heard in the Orchestral Suite and Lustspiel-Ouvertüre) to a more personal, loosely tonal style which culminated in the final masterpiece, Doktor Faust, two movements from which, Sarabande and Cortège, are featured here.

“...This orchestral Busoni-fest is completed by the light-as-air Concertino for clarinet, sensitively given here by the BBC Philharmonic’s long-time principal John Bradbury, while the Geharnischte (‘Armour-plated’) Suite which opens the programme is a kind of Busonian ‘Heldenleben’, each movement dedicated to the composer’s Helsinki drinking pals (who included two of the Järnefelt brothers and inevitably Sibelius). It is deftly orchestrated and eminently listenable... performances and recording are outstanding throughout and reveal considerable empathy with Busoni’s experiments and idiosyncrasies... I have thoroughly enjoyed re-visiting these discs.” (Richard Hanlon, MusicWeb-International)

Nelson Goerner, piano
John Bradbury, clarinet
BBC Philharmonic
Neeme Järvi, conductor

Neeme Järvi
The head of a musical dynasty, Neeme Järvi is one of today’s most highly respected maestros. He conducts the world’s most prominent orchestras and works alongside soloists of the highest calibre. A prolific recording artist, he has amassed a discography of nearly 500 recordings.

Over his long and highly successful career he has held positions with orchestras across the world. Last season he took up his tenure as Artistic and Music Director of the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande. He is also currently Artistic Director of the Estonian National Symphony Orchestra and Music Director Emeritus of both the Residentie Orkest Netherland Hague and the Detroit Symphony Orchestra. He also holds the titles of Principal Conductor Emeritus of the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra and Conductor Laureate of the Royal Scottish National Orchestra.

Recent and future seasons include engagements with the Berliner Philharmoniker, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, Czech Philharmonic Orchestra and Wiener Symphoniker, as well as the major orchestras in the USA, and regular engagements with the NHK and Singapore symphony orchestras. He also continues his regular relationships with the Bergen Philharmonic Orchetra, Swedesh National Orchestra of Gothenburg and the Royal Scottish National orchestras (for a number of recording and concert projects).

Highlights of an impressive discography include critically acclaimed complete symphony cycles of Prokofiev, Shostakovich, Richard Strauss, Mahler, Dvořak, Glazunov, Grieg, Sibelius, Nielsen and Brahms. Järvi has also championed less widely known composers such as Wilhelm Stenhammar, Hugo Alfvén and Niels Gade, Franz Berwald, Johann Svendsen and Johann Halvorsen of Norway and composers from his native Estonia, including Rudolf Tobias, Artur Kapp and Eduard Tubin. Throughout his career he has recorded with Chandos, Deutsche Grammophon, BIS and EMI amongst others.

Future releases on Chandos include Tchaikovsky’s complete ballets, Symphonies and orchestral Music by a Swiss Composer Joachim Raff. Also music by Massenet, Chabrier, Saint-Saëns, Suppé, Atterberg, Xaver, Scharwenka, etc. Neeme Järvi has been honoured with many international awards and accolades. From his native country these include an honorary doctorate from the Music and Theatre Academy and the Order of the National Coat of Arms from the President of the Republic of Estonia, Mr. Lennart Meri. The Mayor of Tallinn presented Maestro Järvi with the city’s first-ever ceremonial sash and coat of arms insignia, and he has been named one of the “Estonians of the Century”. Neeme Järvi holds an honorary doctorate of Humane Letters from Detroit’s Wayne State University and the University of Michigan, as well as honorary doctorates from the University of Aberdeen and the Royal Swedish Academy of Music. He has also received the Commander of the North Star Order from King Karl XVI Gustaf of Sweden.

Booklet for Busoni: Orchestral Works

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO