Welcome Don Glori

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Bedroom Suck Records

Genre: Jazz

Subgenre: Vocal

Interpret: Don Glori

Das Album enthält Albumcover


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 48 $ 9,00
  • 1Maiden Waters05:50
  • 2Ponte05:37
  • 3Dlareme06:07
  • 4Cleanse00:48
  • 5The Wire05:57
  • 6Dinner Party08:19
  • 7Headnoise00:42
  • 8Commodore03:27
  • Total Runtime36:47

Info zu Welcome

Aptly titled, ‘Welcome’ is the debut album from Don Glori. A kaleidoscopic free dive into his world, featuring 8 recordings of revolving jazz, Brazilian, soul and funk inspired compositions spinning together and blurring into a genre bending slew of new music.

There is an intangible element of joy and connection sitting just outside the grasp of description or definition that can be felt throughout this album. Each song on this album captures the spirit and irrepressible energy that underpins the core of the Don Glori project. Imperfections are captured along with the moments of transcendence. Layers of vocal harmonies oscillate next to pulsating samba rhythms while spiritual overtones permeate throughout. Congas and percussion form a holy union with the drum kit, co piloted by Don Glori’s own bass lines. Saxophones, horns and flutes flutter in between the musical canyons carved out by the piano and vibraphone. When you press all of these forces together you can start to feel the intangible; the intrinsic human elements existing in the creases. The sweat, excitement and willingness of each musician to dedicate their spirit and take risks on every track of this album.

It’s clear from the outset that this is an expansive body of work, from the spiritual jazz opener ‘Maiden Waters’ to the bubbling street party that is ‘Dlareme’, and ending on the unashamedly seductive ‘Commodore’. This is the kind of record that will translate equally to both the dance floor and the lounge room rug.

Don Glori, bass, keyboards, guitar, vocals, percussion & synthesizers
Al Kennedy, drums
Lewis Moody, piano, keyboards, synthesizers
Javier Fredes, percussion
Lachlan Thompson, saxophone, flute
Kelly Ottaway, vibraphone (tracks 1 & 2)
Josh Bennier, trombone
Erica Tucceri, flute (track 3)
Mathew Hall, vocals (tracks 1, 2, 6 & 8)
Allysha Joy, vocals (tracks 1, 2 & 6)
Hannah McKittrick, vocals (tracks 1, 2 & 6)
Merinda Dias-Jayasinha, vocals (track 3)
Ruby Dargaville, vocals (track 7)
Robyn Cummins, dings (track 7)

Don Glori
crafts considered compositions with heavy doses of improvisation. His music reflects a deep fascination in jazz, house and Brazilian music, tied together by his inimitable spirit and dedication to groove.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO