R. Strauss: Selections From "Salome", 5 Songs; Boito: Mefistofele Prologo (Remastered) Montserrat Caballé, Nicolai Ghiaurov & Leonard Bernstein

Cover R. Strauss: Selections From 'Salome', 5 Songs; Boito: Mefistofele Prologo (Remastered)

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)

Entschuldigen Sie bitte!

Sehr geehrter HIGHRESAUDIO Besucher,

leider kann das Album zurzeit aufgrund von Länder- und Lizenzbeschränkungen nicht gekauft werden oder uns liegt der offizielle Veröffentlichungstermin für Ihr Land noch nicht vor. Wir aktualisieren unsere Veröffentlichungstermine ein- bis zweimal die Woche. Bitte schauen Sie ab und zu mal wieder rein.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen das Album auf Ihre Merkliste zu setzen.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld.


  • Richard Strauss (1864-1949): Salome, Op.54, TrV 215 / Scene 4:
  • 1"Es ist kein Laut zu vernehmen"17:20
  • 2Salome's Dance Of The Seven Veils09:43
  • 4 Lieder, Op.27, TrV 170:
  • 32. Cäcilie02:02
  • 5 Lieder, Op.41, TrV 195:
  • 41. Wiegenlied04:20
  • Sechs Lieder, Op.37, TrV 187:
  • 52. Ich liebe dich02:16
  • 4 Lieder, Op.27, TrV 170:
  • 64. Morgen03:49
  • 8 Gedichte aus "Letzte Blätter", Op.10, TrV 141:
  • 71. Zueignung01:45
  • Mefistofele - Original Version / Prologue:
  • 8Preludio09:51
  • 9Ave, Signor degli angeli e dei santi!04:13
  • 10T'è noto Faust?03:15
  • 11Siam nimbi volanti dai limbi02:04
  • 12Salve Regina!06:03
  • Total Runtime01:06:41

Info zu R. Strauss: Selections From "Salome", 5 Songs; Boito: Mefistofele Prologo (Remastered)

This album offers Leonard Bernstein in some quite rare (at least for him, on disc) operatic repertoire. Given his flair for the dramatic, it’s not surprising that Bernstein would take so winningly to Strauss’s Salome. The Dance of the Seven Veils is full of color, sparkle, and cloying sensuality [...] Montserrat Caballé sings with solid, beautifully produced tone and communicates a sense of unbearable longing [...] She’s also very good in the lighter, sweeter Strauss songs that follow. There hardly could be a more extreme contrast with Salome than Boito’s Mefistofele, yet Bernstein – never one to shy away from the grandiose – pulls out all the stops in conjuring up the heavenly realm, with its clarion trombones and angelic choirs. Bass Nicolai Ghiaurov gives an arresting portrayal of the title character." (Classicstoday)

"[The Boito] was recorded in Vienna, with Ghiaurov once again putting on diabolical style to admiration, with glorious Viennese choirs, the world’s most lovable orchestra, and a sumptuous, broadly spread acoustic and wide range of dynamics." (Gramophone)

"I think that Strauss himself would have relished the warmth and sensuality of [Caballé’s] finely controlled soprano. In this performance, which begins at Es ist kein Laut zu vernehmen, Caballé receives thrilling support from the French National Orchestra under Bernstein, who also contribute an insinuating and full-blooded account of the Dance of the Seven Veils and then accompany the singer in Strauss’s own orchestral arrangements of five of his bestloved songs. These orchestrated versions suit Caballé’s rather grand style better, I feel, than the more intimate, pianoaccompanied originals [...]. I warmly recommend this firstrate recording both to Strausslovers and to bel canto enthusiasts." ( Records and Recording)

Montserrat Caballe, soprano
Nicolai Ghiaurov, bass
Chor der Wiener Staatsoper
Gumpoldskirchner Spatzen
Wiener Philharmoniker
Leonard Bernstein, conductor

Digitally remastered

Keine Alben gefunden.

Keine Biografie vorhanden.

Booklet für R. Strauss: Selections From "Salome", 5 Songs; Boito: Mefistofele Prologo (Remastered)

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO