Dances and Delights Guido Bäumer & Aladár Rácz

Album info



Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 16.50
  • Eugène Bozza (1905 - 1991):
  • 1Scaramouche, Op. 53, No. 202:49
  • Claude Delvincourt (1888 - 1954): Croquembouches:
  • 2Croquembouches: I. Plum Pudding01:31
  • 3Croquembouches: II. Puits d'Amour02:24
  • 4Croquembouches: III. Nègre en Chemise02:00
  • 5Croquembouches: IV. Linzer Tart01:54
  • 6Croquembouches: V. Grenadine03:09
  • 7Croquembouches: VI. Rahat Loukhoum02:44
  • Eugène Bozza:
  • 8Pulcinella, Op. 53, No. 102:32
  • Fernande Decruck (1896 - 1954): Pièces Françaises:
  • 9Pièces Françaises: I. Tambourin02:05
  • 10Pièces Françaises: II. Vieux Calvaire03:05
  • 11Pièces Françaises: III. Villageoise02:54
  • 12Pièces Françaises: IV. Forlane02:29
  • 13Pièces Françaises: V. L'Horloge02:13
  • 14Pièces Françaises: VI. Rondel02:13
  • 15Pièces Françaises: VII. Rigaudon01:27
  • 16Pièces Françaises: VIII. Toccata01:58
  • Jacques Ibert (1890 - 1962):
  • 17Aria03:31
  • Claude Pascal (1921 - 2017):
  • 18Sonatine07:56
  • Astor Piazzolla (1921 - 1992): Études Tanguistiques:
  • 19Études Tanguistiques: No. 4. Lento meditativo03:34
  • 20Études Tanguistiques: No. 502:15
  • 21Études Tanguistiques: No. 6. Avec anxiété04:02
  • Total Runtime58:45

Info for Dances and Delights

Following the success of their Odradek Records releases, 'Flashback' and 'French Connection', Duo Ultima returns with an irresistible programme of 'Dances & Delights' for saxophone and piano, including pieces by Ibert and Piazzolla.

Guido Baumer (saxophone) and Aladar Racz (piano) have chosen a delectable selection of pieces for this album, each of them exhibiting elements of dance or comedy. There are two Bozza pieces inspired by the 'Commedia dell'arte': 'Scaramouche' and 'Pulcinella', and a suite of sweets by Delvincourt, whose 'Croquembouches', dating from the 1920s, features an array of movements inspired by different desserts.

As Guido Bumer describes in the album booklet, "Pascal's 'Sonatine' is one of the great virtuoso works of the classical saxophone literature, a bravura piece that is an expression of French 'savoir-vivre', and in the 'Pices Franaises' by Decruck, the landscapes, smells and images of France come to life via many facets of saxophone technique" Ibert's 'Aria' dates from 1930 and was originally written for mezzo-soprano and piano. Its enchanting melody has since been arranged for numerous different instrumental combinations, including saxophone and piano.

Piazzolla's 'Etudes Tanguistiques' were written in 1987; originally for solo flute, they follow the lineage, from Biber to Bach to Berio, of solo works that display 'contrapuntal' characteristics, creating a sense of more than one line in the context of a solo work.

"These two musicians are clearly in fine synergy with each other, and this is an excellent place for expanding your collection of saxophone music." (MusicWeb International)

Duo Ultima:
Guido Bäumer, saxophone
Aladár Rácz, piano

No albums found.

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO