Cover Baroque

Album info



Label: Sony Classical

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Robert de Visée (ca.1660-1732):
  • 1Pièces de théorbe et de luth: Suite in F Minor: I. Allemande, "La Plainte"03:56
  • 2Pièces de théorbe et de luth: Suite in F Minor: II. Courante01:39
  • 3Pièces de théorbe et de luth: Suite in F Minor: III. Gigue01:35
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750):
  • 4Suite No. 5 for Viola and Theorbe in G Minor, BWV 995: I. Prélude05:32
  • 5Suite No. 5 for Viola Solo in C Minor, BWV 1011: I. Prélude05:58
  • 6Suite No. 5 for Viola and Theorbe in G Minor, BWV 995: II. Allemande04:31
  • 7Suite No. 5 for Viola Solo in C Minor, BWV 1011: II. Allemande04:50
  • 8Suite No. 5 for Viola and Theorbe in G Minor, BWV 995: III. Courante02:01
  • 9Suite No. 5 for Viola Solo in C Minor, BWV 1011: III. Courante01:44
  • 10Suite No. 5 for Viola and Theorbe in G Minor, BWV 995: IV. Sarabande04:30
  • 11Suite No. 5 for Viola Solo in C Minor, BWV 1011: IV. Sarabande05:04
  • 12Suite No. 5 for Viola and Theorbe in G Minor, BWV 995: V. Gavotte 1 & 205:23
  • 13Suite No. 5 for Viola Solo in C Minor, BWV 1011: V. Gavotte 1 & 204:58
  • 14Suite No. 5 for Viola and Theorbe in G Minor, BWV 995: VI. Gigue02:03
  • 15Suite No. 5 for Viola Solo in C Minor, BWV 1011: VI. Gigue01:36
  • 16Rondeau in C Major for Viola and Lute, BWV 1025, No. 403:19
  • Michel Lambert (1610-1696):
  • 17Airs de cour: Vos mépris chaque jour05:39
  • 18Airs de cour: Ombre de mon amant04:55
  • Johann Sebastian Bach:
  • 19Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland, BWV 659 (Arr. for Viola and Lute)04:29
  • Total Runtime01:13:42

Info for Baroque

Eine Reise in die deutsche und französische Barockmusik: Für "Folia" erhielt Nils Mönkemeyer herausragende Rezensionen, und das tänzerische Album wurde zu einem Chart-Bestseller: "Es gibt auf dem Album auch musikalisch so einiges, was in Verzückung geraten lässt. Da sind irrwitzige Doppelgriffe, Akkord- und Lagenwechsel, die das Herz eines jeden Virtuosen höher schlagen lassen. [...] so mitreißend kann diese barocke musikalische Lebensfreude sein." (MDR Figaro).

Für sein neues Album hat Nils Werke des deutschen und französischen Barock ausgesucht und mit dem Lautenisten Andreas Arend und befreundeten Musikern eingespielt.

Zu hören ist eine Weltersteinspielung: die "Suite F-Moll" aus den Stücken für Théorbe und Laute von Robert de Visée (1650–1732). Dorothee Mields leiht ihren schönen Sopran den beiden selten zu hörenden Werken von Michel Lambert (1610–1696): "Vos mépris chaque jour" und "Ombre de mon amant". Von J. S. Bach wählte Mönkemeyer den berühmten Bach-Choral "Nun kommt der Heiden Heiland" in einer Fassung für Viola und Laute sowie die Suite für Viola Solo BWV 1011, die er geschickt mit der Suite BWV 995 für Viola und Thorbe verschränkt, die beide auf den gleichen Melodien basieren. Von Bach und Weiss stammt das Rondeau BWV 1025.

Nils Mönkemeyer, Viola
Dorothee Mields, Soprano
Sara Kim, Viola
Andreas Arend, Theorbe, Laute
Niklas Trüstedt, Violine

Nils Mönkemeyer
Artistic brilliance and innovative programming are the trademarks with which the Bremen native Nils Mönkemeyer has, in a short time, achieved international renown as a musician while drawing enormous new attention to the viola.

As an exclusive Sony Classical artist, he has brought out several critically acclaimed, award-winning CDs in the last years, all of which have made their way into the German classical charts. The programmes of this and Mönkemeyer’s previous recordings encompass discoveries and first recordings of original viola literature ranging from the 18th century to modern pieces, as well as his own transcriptions. 2017 will mark the release of the newest recording with works by Walton, Bruch and Pärt and the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Markus Poschner.

Nils Mönkemeyer has collaborated with such conductors as Sylvain Cambreling, Elias Grandy, Christopher Hogwood, Cornelius Meister, Mark Minkowski, Michael Sanderling, Clemens Schuldt, Karl-Heinz Steffens, Markus Stenz, Mario Venzago and Simone Young, including orchestras like the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich, Helsinki Philharmonic, Musiciens du Louvre, Berne Symphony Orchestra, Konzerthaus Orchestra Berlin, Staatskapelle Weimar, Bremen and Hamburg Philharmonic, Dusseldorf Symphony Orchestra, MDR and NDR Radio Orchestras and the Berlin Baroque Soloists.

In the season 2017/18 he will appear as soloist at major international concert venues like the Musikverein Vienna, Salzburg, Helsinki Music Center, Liechtenstein, at the Philharmonie Berlin and Cologne, Festspielhaus Baden-Baden, Gasteig in Munich and the Alte Oper Frankfurt.g in Munich and the Alte Oper Frankfurt.

With his regular chamber music projects like the trio with Sabine Meyer and William Youn, the Julia Fischer Quartet and the duo with pianist William Youn, he will be heard on stages like the Wigmore Hall London, National Concert Hall Taipeh, Liszt Hall Budapest, Tonhalle Zurich, Philharmonie Luxembourg, Muziekgebouw Amsterdam, Gewandhaus Leipzig, Prinzregententheater Munich, Boulez Hall Berlin and at numerous festivals.

Since 2011 Nils Mönkemeyer is a professor at the University for Music and Performing Arts in Munich, where he used to study himself with Hariolf Schlichtig. Previously, he was a professor at the University of Music in Dresden and assistant professor at the Escuela Superior Musica Reina Sofia Madrid.

Booklet for Baroque

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO