Cover Ibert: Orchestral Works

Album info



Label: Chandos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.00
  • Jacques Ibert (1890 - 1962): Escales:
  • 1Escales: I. Rome - Palerme07:00
  • 2Escales: II. Tunis - Nefta02:38
  • 3Escales: III. Valencia05:19
  • Sarabande pour Dulcinée (From "Don Quichotte"):
  • 4Sarabande pour Dulcinée (From "Don Quichotte")03:33
  • Ouverture de fête:
  • 5Ouverture de fête13:28
  • Féerique:
  • 6Féerique06:46
  • Divertissement for Chamber Orchestra:
  • 7Divertissement for Chamber Orchestra: I. Introduction01:12
  • 8Divertissement for Chamber Orchestra: II. Cortège05:11
  • 9Divertissement for Chamber Orchestra: III. Nocturne02:32
  • 10Divertissement for Chamber Orchestra: IV. Valse02:58
  • 11Divertissement for Chamber Orchestra: V. Parade01:43
  • 12Divertissement for Chamber Orchestra: VI. Finale02:08
  • Hommage à Mozart:
  • 13Hommage à Mozart04:56
  • Suite symphonique "Paris":
  • 14Suite symphonique "Paris": I. Le Métro02:18
  • 15Suite symphonique "Paris": II. Faubourgs02:37
  • 16Suite symphonique "Paris": III. La Mosquée de Paris01:41
  • 17Suite symphonique "Paris": IV. Restaurant au Bois de Boulogne03:04
  • 18Suite symphonique "Paris": V. Le Paquebot "Île-de-France"02:13
  • 19Suite symphonique "Paris": VI. Parade Foraine01:27
  • Bacchanale:
  • 20Bacchanale08:22
  • Total Runtime01:21:06

Info for Ibert: Orchestral Works

Neeme Järvi and the OSR continue their exploration of French orchestral music with this fourth album: a merry collection from the best of the vigorously ebullient music of Jacques Ibert.

Among the numerous winners of the famous Prix de Rome between its institution by Napoleon in 1803 and its abandonment in 1968, the twentieth century provides us with repertoire works from only one composer: Jacques Ibert, whose characteristically clear orchestration is emphasised by strong melodic lines and supported by lively ostinato patterns in the bass. At the same time, the album reveals what an eclectic composer Ibert was. The contrast between his two best-known pieces is a perfect example: Divertissement, for small orchestra, is light-hearted, even frivolous; Escales..., on the other hand, is a ripely romantic work for large orchestra.

“... The sound quality of this Chandos release is truly outstanding in every regard: balance, depth and detail are state-of-the-art, enabling us to appreciate the music and Neeme Järvi’s interpretations... the music is well worth having in one’s collection, and enhances the listener’s experience of this exceptionally gifted and most admirable composer...” (Robert Matthew-Walker,

"Ibert emerges from it all as a fine composer, whose unity lies in his almost impudent diversity, and who is often far from frivolous as some have maintained. And the disc allows Järvi to show off his Swiss orchestra to perfection. Very fine." (Gramophone Magazine)

Orchestre de la Suisse Romande
Neeme Järvi, conductor

Neeme Järvi
The head of a musical dynasty, Neeme Järvi is one of today’s most highly respected maestros. He conducts the world’s most prominent orchestras and works alongside soloists of the highest calibre. A prolific recording artist, he has amassed a discography of nearly 500 recordings.

Over his long and highly successful career he has held positions with orchestras across the world. Last season he took up his tenure as Artistic and Music Director of the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande. He is also currently Artistic Director of the Estonian National Symphony Orchestra and Music Director Emeritus of both the Residentie Orkest Netherland Hague and the Detroit Symphony Orchestra. He also holds the titles of Principal Conductor Emeritus of the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra and Conductor Laureate of the Royal Scottish National Orchestra.

Recent and future seasons include engagements with the Berliner Philharmoniker, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, Czech Philharmonic Orchestra and Wiener Symphoniker, as well as the major orchestras in the USA, and regular engagements with the NHK and Singapore symphony orchestras. He also continues his regular relationships with the Bergen Philharmonic Orchetra, Swedesh National Orchestra of Gothenburg and the Royal Scottish National orchestras (for a number of recording and concert projects).

Highlights of an impressive discography include critically acclaimed complete symphony cycles of Prokofiev, Shostakovich, Richard Strauss, Mahler, Dvořak, Glazunov, Grieg, Sibelius, Nielsen and Brahms. Järvi has also championed less widely known composers such as Wilhelm Stenhammar, Hugo Alfvén and Niels Gade, Franz Berwald, Johann Svendsen and Johann Halvorsen of Norway and composers from his native Estonia, including Rudolf Tobias, Artur Kapp and Eduard Tubin. Throughout his career he has recorded with Chandos, Deutsche Grammophon, BIS and EMI amongst others.

Future releases on Chandos include Tchaikovsky’s complete ballets, Symphonies and orchestral Music by a Swiss Composer Joachim Raff. Also music by Massenet, Chabrier, Saint-Saëns, Suppé, Atterberg, Xaver, Scharwenka, etc. Neeme Järvi has been honoured with many international awards and accolades. From his native country these include an honorary doctorate from the Music and Theatre Academy and the Order of the National Coat of Arms from the President of the Republic of Estonia, Mr. Lennart Meri. The Mayor of Tallinn presented Maestro Järvi with the city’s first-ever ceremonial sash and coat of arms insignia, and he has been named one of the “Estonians of the Century”. Neeme Järvi holds an honorary doctorate of Humane Letters from Detroit’s Wayne State University and the University of Michigan, as well as honorary doctorates from the University of Aberdeen and the Royal Swedish Academy of Music. He has also received the Commander of the North Star Order from King Karl XVI Gustaf of Sweden.

Booklet for Ibert: Orchestral Works

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO