Schumann: G Minor Sonata / Waldszenen / Gesänge der Frühe Mitsuko Uchida & The Cleveland Orchestra

Cover Schumann: G Minor Sonata / Waldszenen / Gesänge der Frühe

Album info



Label: Decca Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856): Waldszenen, op.82
  • 11. Eintritt02:26
  • 22. Jäger auf der Lauer01:25
  • 33. Einsame Blumen02:41
  • 44. Verrufene Stelle03:57
  • 55. Freundliche Landschaft01:02
  • 66. Herberge02:07
  • 77. Vogel als Prophet03:42
  • 88. Jagdlied02:57
  • 99. Abschied04:08
  • Piano Sonata No.2 in G minor, op.22
  • 101. So rasch wie möglich - Schneller - Noch schneller06:36
  • 112. Andantino04:44
  • 123. Scherzo (Sehr rasch und markiert)02:05
  • 134. Rondo (Presto - Etwas langsamer - Prestissimo, quasi cadenza - Immer schneller und schneller)06:02
  • Gesänge der Frühe, op.133
  • 141. Im ruhigen Tempo03:17
  • 152. Belebt, nicht zu rasch02:36
  • 163. Lebhaft02:58
  • 174. Bewegt03:10
  • 185. Im Anfang ruhiges, im Verlauf bewegtes Tempo03:21
  • Bonus: Im Herbste (Justinus Kerner)
  • 19Im Herbste01:44
  • Total Runtime01:00:58

Info for Schumann: G Minor Sonata / Waldszenen / Gesänge der Frühe

Uchida’s latest Decca recording brings together the romantic fire and intensity of the Piano Sonata No. 2 in G minor Op. 22 with two remarkable works from Schumann’s final years, Waldszenen and the Gesänge der Frühe.

Her album’s repertoire explores music created by an artist burdened by deep depression and mental illness. His Gesänge der Frühe (“Songs of Dawn”) were sketched within the space of four days in February 1854, shortly before Schumann attempted to commit suicide by throwing himself in the Rhine. The work proved to be his last complete piano composition.

Mitsuko Uchida, piano

Mitsuko Uchida
is a performer who brings a deep insight into the music she plays through her own search for truth and beauty. She is renowned for her interpretations of Mozart, Schubert, and Beethoven, both in the concert hall and on CD, but she has also illuminated the music of Berg, Schoenberg, Webern and Boulez for a new generation of listeners. Her recording of the Schoenberg Piano Concerto with Pierre Boulez and the Cleveland Orchestra won four awards, including The Gramophone Award for Best Concerto. Amongst many current projects, Uchida has recently been recording a selection of Mozart’s Piano Concerti with the Cleveland Orchestra, directing from the piano: one of the discs in this series won a Grammy Award in 2011.

Highlights this season include performances with the Berlin Philharmonic and Sir Simon Rattle, and with the London Symphony and Sir Colin Davis. Uchida will tour Spain and Portugal, play-directing the Mahler Chamber Orchestra in Mozart. She will also undertake a solo recital tour, with venues including the Royal Festival Hall in London, Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw, Berlin’s Philharmonie and Vienna’s Konzerthaus. Uchida will additionally spend time performing in the USA, play-directing the Chicago Symphony and Cleveland Orchestras, and giving recitals at venues including Carnegie Hall.

Mitsuko Uchida performs with the world’s finest orchestras and musicians. Some recent highlights have been her Artist-in-Residency at the Cleveland Orchestra, where she directed all the Mozart concerti from the keyboard over a number of seasons. She has also been the focus of a Carnegie Hall Perspectives series entitled ‘Mitsuko Uchida: Vienna Revisited’. She has featured in the Concertgebouw’s Carte Blanche series where she collaborated with Ian Bostridge, the Hagen Quartet, Chamber Orchestra of Europe and Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra as well as directing from the piano a performance of Schönberg’s Pierrot Lunaire. Uchida has also been Artist-in-Residence at the Vienna Konzerthaus, Salzburg Mozartwoche, and with the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, where she performed a series of chamber music concerts and a Beethoven Piano Concerti cycle with Sir Simon Rattle.

Mitsuko Uchida records exclusively for Decca and her recordings include the complete Mozart piano sonatas and piano concerti; the complete Schubert piano sonatas; Debussy’s Etudes; the five Beethoven piano concerti with Kurt Sanderling; a CD of Mozart Sonatas for Violin and Piano with Mark Steinberg; Die Schöne Müllerin with Ian Bostridge for EMI; the final five Beethoven piano sonatas; and the 2008 recording of Berg’s Chamber Concerto with the Ensemble Intercontemporain, Pierre Boulez and Christian Tetzlaff. Uchida’s most recent releases are CD’s of Mozart’s concerti K.488 and K.491, and a second disc of K.466 and K.595, both with Uchida directing the Cleveland Orchestra from the piano; and an acclaimed disc of Schumann’s solo piano music, featuring the Davidsbündlertänze and the Fantasie. A third disc in the series of live Cleveland Orchestra recordings for Decca has just been released, featuring Mozart’s concerti K.271 and K467. A DVD featuring a live performance of Schoenberg’s Pierrot Lunaire from the Salzburg Festival and an accompanying documentary has just been released by Bel Air and Film+co, in the centennary year of this pivotal work.

Mitsuko Uchida has demonstrated a long-standing commitment to aiding the development of young musicians and is a trustee of the Borletti-Buitoni Trust. She is also Co-director, with Richard Goode, of the Marlboro Music Festival. In May 2012 she was awarded the Royal Philharmonic Society’s Gold Medal. In June 2009 she was made a Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire.

Booklet for Schumann: G Minor Sonata / Waldszenen / Gesänge der Frühe

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO