Album info



Label: Signum Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.50
  • Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809): Berenice, che fai, Hob.XXIVa:10:
  • 1bars 1-300:11
  • 2Recitative: Berenice, che fai?04:28
  • 3Aria: Non partir bel idol mio02:22
  • 4Recitative: Me infelice! Che fingo?00:28
  • 5Aria: Perché, se tanti siete05:15
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791): O temerario Arbace … Per quel paterno amplesso, K. 79:
  • 6Recitative: Oh, temerario Arbace!01:15
  • 7Aria: Per quel paterno amplesso04:45
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827): No, non turbarti, WoO 92a:
  • 8Recitative: No, non turbati, o Nice01:57
  • 9Aria: Ma tu tremi, o mio tesoro?03:08
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Basta vincesti … Ah, non lasciarmi, K. 486a:
  • 10Recitative: Basta, vincesti, eccoti il foglio00:52
  • 11Aria: Ah non lasciarmi, no05:07
  • Franz Joseph Haydn:
  • 12Solo e pensoso, Hob.XXIVb:2006:41
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Ah, lo previdi, K. 272:
  • 13Recitative: Ah, lo previdi!01:04
  • 14Aria: Ah, t'invola03:12
  • 15Recitative: Misera! Misera!02:56
  • 16Cavatine: Deh, non varcar04:50
  • Bella mia fiamma, addio, K. 528:
  • 17Recitative: Bella mia fiamma, addio02:39
  • 18Aria: Resta, oh cara06:36
  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Ah, perfido!, Op. 65:
  • 19Recitative: Ah! perfido03:09
  • 20Aria: Per pietà, non dirmi addio05:05
  • 21Aria: Ah crudel! tu vuoi ch'io mora04:08
  • Total Runtime01:10:08

Info for Perfido!

Leading British soprano Sophie Bevan performs a sumptuous programme of concert arias by Mozart, Haydn and Beethoven. Bevan is accompanied on this new recording by The Mozartists, recently launched by Ian Page's internationally renowned period ensemble Classical Opera as an expansion of its continuing exploration of Mozart and his contemporaries. Complementing Classical Opera's ongoing recording series of complete operas of Mozart, the creation of The Mozartists reflects the group's expanding repertoire and ambitious plans, and they can be heard in concert from September, 2017.

Bevan has emerged as one of the leading Mozart singers of her generation, and in recent years she has performed the roles of Ilia (Idomeneo), Susanna (Le nozze di Figaro) and Pamina (Die Zauberflöte) at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden. She has worked with Ian Page and Classical Opera every year since 2005, and her previous recordings with the company have included ‘Blessed Spirit’ – a Gluck retrospective (Wigmore Hall Live) and roles in several of their ongoing complete cycle of Mozart operas on Signum Classics – Hyacinthus (Apollo et Hyacinthus), Der Weltgeist (Die Schuldigkeit des ersten Gebots), Sifare (Mitridate, re di Ponto) and most recently the title role in Zaide.

The programme of ‘Perfido!’ was devised by Ian Page and comprises concert arias by the three greatest composers of the classical era. It begins with Haydn’s magnificent Scena di Berenice, composed in London in 1795 for the celebrated dramatic soprano Brigida Giorgi Banti, and culminates with the three great arias composed for the famous Czech soprano Josefa Dušek – Mozart’s “Ah, lo previdi” and “Bella mia fiamma” and Beethoven’s “Ah! perfido”. Other featured arias include Mozart’s “Oh, temerario Arbace”, composed when he was just ten years old, and Beethoven’s “No, non turbati”, created as part of the composer’s studies in Vienna with Antonio Salieri.

„There is compelling synergy between dramatically aware orchestral playing and Bevan’s marvellous singing in Zaide…“ (Gramophone)

“Bevan has made her reputation with her pure lyric soprano, but it's interesting to hear a bit of attractive smoke to the tone these days. Her voice is perhaps on the light side for these arias, but her partnership with Ian Page, who conducts, pays dividends as they sail confidently through the heavier perils of these dramatic pieces…an interesting disc of lesser-performed arias dispatched with freshness and style” (Opera Now)

Sophie Bevan, soprano
The Mozartists
Ian Page, conductor

Sophie Bevan
English soprano Sophie Bevan made her Royal Opera debut in September 2013 as Woodbird (Siegfried), and has since returned to sing Pamina (Die Zauberflöte), Ilia (Idomeneo), Susanna (Le nozze di Figaro), Antigone (Oedipe), Sophie von Faninal (Der Rosenkavalier) and Beatriz (The Exterminating Angel, role creation). In the 2018/19 Season she returns to sing Woodbird.

Bevan grew up in Berkshire in a musical family. She studied at the Royal College of Music, where she won the Queen Mother Rose Bowl Award. She is the recipient of the 2010 Critics’ Circle Award for Exceptional Young Talent, The Times Breakthrough Award at the 2012 South Bank Sky Arts Awards and the Young Singer of the Year Award at the 2013 International Opera Awards. Her roles for English National Opera have included Hermione (The Winter’s Tale, world premiere), Télaire (Castor and Pollux), Polinessa (Radamisto), Despina (Così fan tutte), Yum-Yum (The Mikado) and Léïla (The Pearl Fishers). Other operatic appearances include Beatriz for Salzburg Festival, Michal (Saul) for Glyndebourne Festival, Pamina for Teatro Real, Madrid, Susanna and Pamina for Garsington Opera, Woodbird for Lucerne Festival, Ninetta (La gazza ladra) for Frankfurt Opera, the title role in The Cunning Little Vixen for Welsh National Opera and Sophie (Der Rosenkavalier) in concert with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra under Andris Nelsons.

Bevan has worked with such conductors as Laurence Cummings, Mark Elder, Edward Gardner, Daniel Harding, Charles Mackerras, Neville Marriner and Antonio Pappano. She has appeared in concert with leading British orchestras and ensembles in venues such as the Wigmore Hall and the Barbican and at the Aldeburgh, Edinburgh and BBC Proms festivals. She regularly performs with pianist Sebastian Wybrew.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO