Cover Mozart: Masonic Works – Cantatas & Funeral Music

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 12.50
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791): Laut verkünde unsre Freude, K. 623:
  • 1I. Laut verkünde unsre Freude03:15
  • 2II. Dieser Gottheit Allmacht ruhet04:24
  • 3III. Lange sollen diese Mauern03:10
  • 4IV. Laut verkünde unsre Freude01:38
  • Die ihr des unermesslichen Weltalls Schöpfer ehrt, K. 619:
  • 5Die ihr des unermesslichen Weltalls Schöpfer ehrt, K. 61906:41
  • Die Maurerfreude, K. 471:
  • 6Die Maurerfreude, K. 47106:27
  • Lied zur Gesellenreise, K. 468:
  • 7Lied zur Gesellenreise, K. 468 (Arr. for Organ & Voice)03:12
  • Lobegesang auf die feierliche Johannisloge, K. 148 "O heiliges Band":
  • 8Lobegesang auf die feierliche Johannisloge, K. 148 "O heiliges Band" (Arr. for Voice, Chorus & Piano)04:57
  • Thamos, König in Ägypten, K. 345:
  • 9II. Maestoso - Allegro06:59
  • 10III. Andante06:09
  • 11IV. Allegro - Allegretto - Andante02:51
  • 12V. Allegro vivace assai03:35
  • Dir, Seele des Weltalls, K. 429:
  • 13Dir, Seele des Weltalls, K. 429 (Completed by F. Beyer)09:35
  • Ihr unsre neuen Leiter, K. 484:
  • 14Ihr unsre neuen Leiter, K. 48403:08
  • Zerfliesset heut', geliebte Brüder, K. 483:
  • 15Zerfliesset heut', geliebte Brüder, K. 48302:04
  • Maurerische Trauermusik, K. 477:
  • 16Maurerische Trauermusik, K. 477 (Reconstructed by P.A. Autexier as "Meistermusik")04:10
  • Total Runtime01:12:15

Info for Mozart: Masonic Works – Cantatas & Funeral Music

Following their 11-disc cycle of Mozart’s piano concertos recorded with Ronald Brautigam, Die Kölner Akademie and Michael Alexander Willens in 2017 released a disc with two of Mozart’s best-loved serenades: the Posthorn Serenade and Eine kleine Nachtmusik. The result was warmly received, for instance in the French magazine Classica where it was described as ‘a truly attractive disc to chase away the gloom’ and on ‘Die Kölner Akademie … demonstrate once again that they are amongst the best groups in the world of period performance’.

Joined by the tenor John Heuzenroeder and the male voices of the Kölner Akademie Choir, the team has now recorded the music that Mozart wrote for performance at Masonic gatherings. Mozart was himself a Mason during the last seven years of his life, and composed a number of songs and cantatas for various occasions. Best-known is probably the Masonic Funeral Music, K 477, heard here in a version – ‘Meistermusik’ – devised by the Mozart scholar Philippe Autexier in an attempt to reconstruct the original performance of the piece. Also included are the four orchestral interludes to the play Thamos, König in Ägypten, fine examples of Mozart’s music in the ‘Sturm und Drang’ tradition. Thamos was written by the poet and Mason Tobias von Gebler, and parallels have frequently been drawn between it and the more overtly Masonic Magic Flute.

John Heuzenroeder, tenor
Mario Borgioni, bass
Alexander Puliaev, fortepiano
Willi Kronenberg, organ
Chor der Kölner Akademie
Die Kölner Akademie
Michael Alexander Willens, conductor

No albums found.

No biography found.

Booklet for Mozart: Masonic Works – Cantatas & Funeral Music

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO