Adès / Nørgård / Abrahamsen Danish String Quartet

Cover Adès / Nørgård / Abrahamsen

Album info



Label: ECM

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Danish String Quartet

Composer: Thomas Ades (1971), Per Nörgard (1932), Hans Abrahamsen (1952)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Thomas Ades (1971-): Arcadiana, Op. 12
  • 1I. Venezia notturna02:33
  • 2II. Das klinget so herrlich, das klinget so schon01:28
  • 3III. Auf dem Wasser zu singen02:28
  • 4IV. Et... (Tango mortale)04:08
  • 5V. L'embarquement02:41
  • 6Vi. O Albion03:15
  • 7VII. Lethe02:37
  • Per Norgard (1932-): Quartetto Breve
  • 8I. Lento, poco rubato03:38
  • 9II. Allegro risoluto03:36
  • Hans Abrahamsen (1952-): 10 Preludes
  • 10No. 102:52
  • 11No. 201:17
  • 12No. 302:37
  • 13No. 401:24
  • 14No. 502:17
  • 15No. 602:44
  • 16No. 701:24
  • 17No. 802:45
  • 18No. 901:42
  • 19No. 1001:21
  • Total Runtime46:47

Info for Adès / Nørgård / Abrahamsen

The Danish String Quartet, one of the most widely-acclaimed chamber groups of the present moment, makes its ECM debut playing a program of British and Danish music: Thomas Adess Arcadiana (composed 1994), Per Norgards Quartetto Breve (1952), and Hans Abrahamsens 10 Preludes (1973).

The pieces were all written when the respective composers were each barely into their 20s, and have a freshness and intensity vividly conveyed in the DSQs interpretations.

Arcadia has no national boundaries, writes Paul Griffiths in the liner notes. We may feel that the precision of nuance, the warm and intelligent closeness of voices and the command of form these Danish musicians bring to Abrahamsen as to Norgard comes from some common heritage or sympathy, and yet the same fine qualities shine through their performance of the Ades piece.

The album was recorded in May 2015 at Reitstadel Neumarkt and produced by Manfred Eicher.

Danish String Quartet

Danish String Quartet
As a string quartet, we find ourselves at the core of the classical music world. On a daily basis we delve deeply into works by great masters such as Beethoven and Mozart, but we also play the occasional folk gig. Over the years we have been fortunate to study in many different places in masterclasses with renowned teachers and have had opportunities to perform in major concert halls across the world. Sometimes a friendly reviewer has written nice things about us too. We have participated in competitions and made some recordings as well. If you want to know more about all this stuff, check out the ‘press‘ page on our site, where you can download a PDF with all the text you could hope for.

Here’s a simpler story of the quartet: We are three Danes and one Norwegian cellist, making this a truly Scandinavian endeavor. We are often joking about ourselves being modern Vikings – perhaps a touch more harmless than our ancestors – we are not pillaging cities or razing the English coastline! We are simply your friendly neighborhood string quartet with above average amounts of beard.The three of us met very early in our lives in the Danish countryside at an amazing summer camp for enthusiastic amateur musicians. Not yet teenagers, we were the youngest players, so we hung out all the time playing football and chamber music together. During the regular school year we would get together often to play music and just have fun. We became best friends. In 2001, professor Tim Frederiksen of The Royal Academy of Music in Copenhagen got in touch with us and started coaching us on a regular basis. All of the sudden, at the ages of 15 and 16, we were a serious string quartet. It all happened so fast that none of us seemed to notice the transition.

Time passed and we grew up. We were enrolled at The Royal Academy of Music and our life as music students had begun. Funnily enough, none of us have any memory of our lives without the string quartet. In 2008 Norwegian cellist Fredrik joined in, generously adding to the amount of beard and general Vikingness of the group. We found him hidden away in a castle outside Stockholm. During his free time, Fredrik can be found fixing or sailing his sailboat somewhere in Scandinavia.The rest of us spend time with different hobbies – old cars, cooking, gaming, reading, playing, talking, and drinking. Yes, playing string quartets is our job, and yes it is hard work, but we mostly do it for pleasure, like we always did.There is so much amazing music to delve into, and our hope is to continue our travels through life and music together as a quartet. We want to be able to share our music with as many people as possible. And of course, the ultimate goal is to beat Valentin Berlinsky’s (Borodin String quartet) world record of “most years in the same chamber music group”. We will reach that goal around 2060 and on that day we will host a giant feast – you shall all be invited!

Booklet for Adès / Nørgård / Abrahamsen

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO