Cover Bohemian Tales

Album info



Label: Warner Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Concertos

Artist: Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks & Jakub Hrůša

Composer: Josef Suk (1874-1935), Leos Janacek (1854-1928), Antonin Dvorak (1841-1904)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Antonín Dvorák (1841 - 1904): Violin Concerto in A Minor, Op. 53, B. 108:
  • 1Dvorak: Violin Concerto in A Minor, Op. 53, B. 108: I. Allegro ma non troppo11:08
  • 2Dvorak: Violin Concerto in A Minor, Op. 53, B. 108: II. Adagio ma non troppo10:36
  • 3Dvorak: Violin Concerto in A Minor, Op. 53, B. 108: III. Allegro giocoso, ma non troppo:09:59
  • Antonín Dvorák:
  • 4Dvorak: 4 Romantic Pieces, Op. 75, B. 150: No. 4, Larghetto in G Minor06:58
  • Leoš Janáček (1854 - 1928): Violin Sonata, JW VII/7:
  • 5Janacek: Violin Sonata, JW VII/7: I. Con moto05:27
  • 6Janacek: Violin Sonata, JW VII/7: II. Ballada05:36
  • 7Janacek: Violin Sonata, JW VII/7: III. Allegretto02:31
  • 8Janacek: Violin Sonata, JW VII/7: IV. Adagio04:46
  • Josef Suk (1874 - 1935): 4 Pieces, Op. 17:
  • 9Suk: 4 Pieces, Op. 17: No. 1, Quasi ballata05:29
  • 10Suk: 4 Pieces, Op. 17: No. 2, Appassionato04:17
  • 11Suk: 4 Pieces, Op.17: No. 3, Un poco triste04:33
  • 12Suk: 4 Pieces, Op. 17: No. 4, Burleska03:04
  • Antonín Dvorák:
  • 13Dvorak / Transc. Hadelich: 7 Gypsy Songs, Op. 55, B. 104: No. 4, Songs My Mother Taught Me03:14
  • 14Dvorak / Arr. Kreisler: 8 Humoresques, Op. 101, B. 187: No. 7 in G-Flat Major03:44
  • Total Runtime01:21:22

Info for Bohemian Tales

'Mr Hadelich increasingly seems to be one of the outstanding violinists of his generation,' wrote the New York Times after Augustin Hadelich played Dvorák’s Violin Concerto under Czech-born Jakub Hrusa’s baton in 2017. Hadelich and Hrusa have now recorded the concerto with the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks .

Bohemian Tales pairs the concerto with works for violin and piano by Dvorák and two other major Czech composers of the late 19th/early 20th centuries, Leos Janácek and Josef Suk. The pianist is Charles Owen.

"With Hruša drawing stylish sounds from the Bavarian orchestra — especially the woodwinds — this performance [of the Concerto] sounds idiomatic, irresistibly dance-like in the closing furiant section, yet with an undertow of melancholy that makes Dvořák so distinctive...Hadelich and Owen dash off the most virtuosic of the music here: Four Pieces Op 17, by Dvořák’s son-in-law, Josef Suk. Delicious." (Sunday Times)

Augustin Hadelich, violin
Charles Owen, piano
Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks
Jakub Hruša, conductor

Jakub Hrůša
Born in the Czech Republic, Jakub Hrůša is Chief Conductor of the Bamberg Symphony, Principal Guest Conductor of the Philharmonia Orchestra, and Principal Guest Conductor of the Czech Philharmonic.

He is a frequent guest with many of the world’s greatest orchestras, and in addition to his titled positions enjoys close relationships with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, Orchestre philharmonique de Radio France, The Cleveland Orchestra, New York Philharmonic, Chicago Symphony, and Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra. The 2018/19 season will see him make debuts with the Berlin Philharmonic, Bavarian Radio Symphony, Orchestre de Paris and NHK Symphony.

His relationships with leading vocal and instrumental soloists have included collaborations in recent seasons with Behzod Abduraimov, Piotr Anderszewski, Leif Ove Andsnes, Lisa Batiashvili, Jonathan Biss, Yefim Bronfman, Rudolf Buchbinder, Isabelle Faust, Bernarda Fink, Julia Fischer, Vilde Frang, Sol Gabetta, Christian Gerhaher, Kirill Gerstein, Karen Gomyo, Augustin Hadelich, Hilary Hahn, Alina Ibragimova, Janine Jansen, Karita Mattila, Leonidas Kavakos, Sergey Khachatryan, Lang Lang, Igor Levit, Jan Lisiecki, Albrecht Mayer, Johannes Moser, Viktoria Mullova, Anne Sofie Mutter, Kristine Opolais, Stephanie d’Oustrac. Olga Peretyatko, Jean-Guihen Queyras, Josef Spacek, Jean-Yves Thibaudet, Daniil Trifonov, Simon Trpčeski, Mitsuko Uchida, Klaus Florian Vogt, Yuja Wang, Frank Peter Zimmermann and Nikolaj Znaider As a conductor of opera, he has been a regular guest with Glyndebourne Festival, conducting Vanessa, The Cunning Little Vixen, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Carmen, The Turn of the Screw, Don Giovanni and La bohème, and serving as Music Director of Glyndebourne On Tour for three years. Elsewhere he has led productions for the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden (Carmen), Vienna State Opera (a new production of The Makropulos Case), Opéra National de Paris (Rusalka and The Merry Widow), and Frankfurt Opera (Il trittico), among others.

As a recording artist, his most recent releases are Smetana’s Má vlast with Bamberg Symphony (Tudor), and Concertos for Orchestra by Bartók and Kodály with RSB Berlin (Pentatone). He has also recorded Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique, Strauss’s Eine Alpensinfonie and Suk’s Asrael Symphony with Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra (Octavia Records); the Tchaikovsky and Bruch violin concertos with Nicola Benedetti and the Czech Philharmonic (Universal); and nine discs (with Pentatone and Supraphon) of Czech repertoire with PKF-Prague Philharmonia, where he was Music Director from 2009 until 2015.

Jakub Hrůša studied conducting at the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague, where his teachers included Jiří Bělohlávek. He is currently President of the International Martinů Circle and The Dvořák Society, and in 2015 he was the inaugural recipient of the Sir Charles Mackerras Prize.

Booklet for Bohemian Tales

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO