Chris Beier


Biography Chris Beier



Chris Beier
was born in Trier, Germany in 1953. He took classical piano lessons as a youth and early on became interested in jazz and blues. After his graduation from secondary school Beier studied musicology, American studies and sociology.

Beier has been working with numerous well-known artists since the beginning of the 1980’s, touring extensively in and outside of Germany. He has recorded over 20 albums and composed for a wide variety of radio, TV, and theatre productions. He has also composed for larger groups, including symphony orchestras.

Along with guest performances with Albert Mangelsdorff, Aladár Pege, Toto Blanke, Joe Nay, Marion Brown, Bill Elgart, Jörg Widmoser (Modern String Quartet), Dick Heckstall-Smith und John Etheridge, Chris Beier has worked with his own groups (“Overtone” with bass player Rainer Glas), with Leszek Zadlo since 1985 (in duo and quartet), and with larger formations such as when performing his suite “Angel Memory”, which was fashioned after motives from Alban Berg’s violin concerto, and the two concert suites 'Overtone Orchestra'.

As music director of the Nuremberg State Theatre from 1997 through 2001 Chris Beier was involved with the successful productions “The Black Rider”, “Secretaries”, and “Struwwelpeter”.

Since 1987 Beier has led the jazz division, teaching jazz piano, theory, and composition at the Würzburg conservatory, and later at Würzburg’s College of Music. His students have included such well-known musicians as Michael Wollny.

Since the onset of “focal dystonia” (a neurological muscle disorder) in 2001, Chris Beier has been forced to forgo active concert tours. Since that time till 2011 Beier taught jazz harmony, ear training, composition, digital music production, and pedagogy at the College of Music in Würzburg. Today he entirely focusses on composing.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO

Chris Beier


Biography Chris Beier


Chris Beier
Der gebürtige Trierer (05.05.1953) erhielt in frühen Jahren klassischen Klavierunterricht und interessierte sich bald besonders für Jazzmusik und Blues. Nach dem Abitur folgten Studien der Musikwissenschaft, Amerikanistik und Soziologie.

Seit Anfang der 80er Jahre arbeitete Chris Beier mit vielen namhaften Künstlern zusammen,neben zahlreichen Tourneen im In- und Ausland wirkte er auf über 20 Alben mit und komponierte immer wieder für Rundfunk, Fernsehen und Theater und auch für größere konzertante Besetzungen bis hin zum symphonischen Orchester.

Neben Auftritten und Gastspielen mit Albert Mangelsdorff, Aladár Pege, Toto Blanke, Joe Nay, Marion Brown, Bill Elgart, Jörg Widmoser (Modern String Quartett), Dick Heckstall-Smith und John Etheridge arbeitete Chris Beier schon früh mit eigenen Gruppen (Overtone mit Bassist Rainer Glas), sowie verstärkt seit 1985 mit Leszek Zadlo (im Duo und Quartett) und mit großen Formationen. So entstand die Suite 'Angel Memory' nach Motiven von Alban Bergs Violinkonzert und die zwei Konzertsuiten 'Overtone Orchestra'.

Von 1997-2001 brachte Chris Beier als musikalischer Leiter am Staatstheater Nürnberg die Erfolgsproduktionen "The Black Rider", "Sekretärinnen" und "Struwwelpeter" heraus.

Seit 1987 leitete er als Dozent für Jazzpiano, -theorie/ -komposition den Fachbereich Jazz am Konservatorium in Würzburg - seit 2001 an der Hochschule für Musik Würzburg. In seiner Klasse studierte der heutige Pianist von Weltrang, Michael Wollny.

Nach dem Auftreten einer 'fokalen Dystonie' im Jahr 2001 musste sich Chris Beier vom aktiven Konzertleben zurückziehen. Bis 2011 unterrichtete er die Fächer Jazzharmonik, -gehörbildung, -komposition, digitale Musikproduktion und Unterrichtspraxis an der Hochschule für Musik Würzburg. Heute konzentriert er sich ausschließlich auf das Komponieren.



© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO