Liszt: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 Leonard Pennario

Album info



Label: RCA Red Seal

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Franz Liszt (1811 - 1886): Piano Concerto No. 1 in E-Flat Major, S. 124:
  • 1Piano Concerto No. 1 in E-Flat Major, S. 124: I. Allegro maestoso - Tempo guisto05:14
  • 2Piano Concerto No. 1 in E-Flat Major, S. 124: II. Quasi adagio04:33
  • 3Piano Concerto No. 1 in E-Flat Major, S. 124: III. Allegretto vivace. Allegro animato04:04
  • 4Piano Concerto No. 1 in E-Flat Major, S. 124: IV. Allegro marziale animato04:22
  • Piano Concerto No. 2 in A Major, S. 125: 1.
  • 5Piano Concerto No. 2 in A Major, S. 125: 1. Adagio sostenuto assai05:21
  • 6Piano Concerto No. 2 in A Major, S. 125: 2. Allegro agitato assai01:50
  • 7Piano Concerto No. 2 in A Major, S. 125: 3. Allegro moderato05:12
  • 8Piano Concerto No. 2 in A Major, S. 125: 4. Allegro deciso02:57
  • 9Piano Concerto No. 2 in A Major, S. 125: 5. Marziale, un poco meno Allegro03:40
  • 10Piano Concerto No. 2 in A Major, S. 125: 6. Allegro animato01:48
  • Total Runtime39:01

Info for Liszt: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2

“Nobody plays the piano better than Leonard Pennario,” wrote the eminent critic Andrew Porter in London’s New Statesman in 1952, when the competition would have included none less than Horowitz in his prime. That year, Pennario began recording for Capitol Records in Los Angeles, and a decade later he moved to RCA Victor, for which label he made a series of distinguished albums. To mark the tenth anniversary of Pennario’s death, Sony Classical reissues various of the pianist’s RCA recordings together for the first time on HighResAudio.

Born in 1924 in Buffalo, New York, Pennario gave his first public performance there at the age of seven, later moving with his family to Los Angeles, where his teachers included the legendary Isabella Vengerova. His breakthrough came in 1936, when he made his orchestral debut deputizing for an indisposed soloist with the Dallas Symphony. On that memorable occasion, the twelve-year-old performed the Grieg Piano Concerto, a work he had never heard, let alone played, until a few days earlier.

Dazzling concertos would, of course, feature prominently in Pennario’s discography, and his first RCA Victor releases in 1964 included Rachmaninoff’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini and the Franck Symphonic Variations with Arthur Fiedler and the Boston Pops (High Fidelity: “immense dexterity and bravura”) and the two Liszt concertos with René Leibowitz conducting the London Symphony (Gramophone: “magisterial accounts of both works … it is a constant delight to listen to his effortless brilliance and power … vivid ‘hi-fi’ recording”).

Among the acclaimed solo recital albums in this set are a collection of popular short pieces by Beethoven, Schubert, Dvořák, Tchaikovsky, Rubinstein, Grieg, Falla, Debussy, Gershwin and Rachmaninoff which Pennario plays “with admirable care and impeccable taste” (High Fidelity) as well as both books of Debussy Préludes: “This is a most beautifully played set” (Gramophone).

Leonard Pennario, piano

Digitally remastered

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO