The Music Prints of Christophe Plantin Huelgas Ensemble

Album info



Label: deutsche harmonia mundi

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Artist: Huelgas Ensemble

Composer: George de la Hèle (1547-1586), Claude le Jeune (1529-1600), Jacobus de Kerle (1531-1591)

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Andreas Pevernage (1542-1591):
  • 1Epitaphe de Christophe Plantin: Pleurez Muses (à 5)06:55
  • Jacobus de Kerle (1531-1591):
  • 2Missa da Pacem Domine: Agnus Dei (à 6 & 9)05:14
  • Andreas Pevernage:
  • 3Trois fois heureux et gracieux (Chanson à 5)04:26
  • Philippus De Monte (1521-1603):
  • 4Missa si ambulavero: Sanctus & Agnus Dei (à 6)07:53
  • Andreas Pevernage:
  • 5Fay que je vive (Chanson)03:58
  • Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina (1525-1594):
  • 6Conditor alme siderum (Hymn à 4, 5 & 6)07:23
  • Andreas Pevernage:
  • 7Sur tous regretz (Chanson à 5)04:46
  • George de La Hèle (1547-1586):
  • 8Missa Praeter rerum seriem: Gloria (à 7)06:26
  • Andreas Pevernage:
  • 9Je suis tellement amoureux (Chanson)02:22
  • 10La nuict le jour (Chanson à 6)04:31
  • George de La Hèle:
  • 11Missa Praeter rerum seriem: Agnus Dei (à 7 & 8)06:17
  • Claude Le Jeune:
  • 12Quell'eau, quel air, quel feu (Chanson à 4)06:09
  • Total Runtime01:06:20

Info for The Music Prints of Christophe Plantin

The Antwerp based French printer Christophe Plantin (1520-1589) achieved international renown through his epic bible editions (e.g. the eight part “Biblia Regia”) and elaborate humanistic works by the likes of Justus Lipsius and the mathematician Simon Stevin. On the other hand, his fame as a publisher of ground-breaking music prints of esteemed sixteenth century composers, often presented as monumental choir books, seems today to have gone relatively unnoticed.

This programme illustrates the great musical quality of his publications. Works, indeed, that without doubt contributed to the wider dissemination of European polyphony. The concert consists of mass movements by Jacobus De Kerle (1531-1591) – printed in a sumptuous choir book – and the chapel master at Vienna, Philippus De Monte (1521-1603). To contrast we have the extensive chanson repertoire of Andries Pervenage (1542-1591), music master at Antwerp Cathedral, published by Plantin in four consecutive volumes. Plantin was well connected to a variety of European musical establishments, hence his broad artistic range, from his unique edition of works by the French Huguenot Claude Le Jeune (Livre de melanges, 1585) to the multi-voiced “papal” hymnal of Catholic church music by Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina (1525 - 1594).

The listener is transported to an unjustly neglected sound world of diverse radiance, courtesy of one of the greatest music publishers of the Renaissance.

Huelgas Ensemble
Olivier Coiffet, Tenor
Achim Schulz, Cembalo
Axelle Bernage, Sopran
Paul Van Nevel, Leitung

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO