Live At Montreux 1986 (Live) (Remastered) George Benson

Album info



Label: Mercury Studios

Genre: Jazz

Subgenre: Vocal

Artist: George Benson

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Feel Like Making Love (Live)04:18
  • 2Off Broadway (Live)04:01
  • 3Weekend in L.A (Live)06:39
  • 4Lady Love Me (Live)03:57
  • 5Love Ballad (Live)07:59
  • 6Beyond The Sea (Live)03:54
  • 7Affirmation (Live)06:14
  • 8My Latin Brother (Live)05:39
  • 9Love X Love (Live)06:37
  • 10In Your Eyes (Live)03:12
  • 11The Greatest Love Of All (Live)06:37
  • 1220/20 (Live)04:17
  • 13Never Give Up On A Good Thing (Live)04:23
  • 14Turn Your Love Around (Live)04:09
  • 15On Broadway (Live)09:58
  • Total Runtime01:21:54

Info for Live At Montreux 1986 (Live) (Remastered)

George Benson: Live at Montreux 1986 documents the jazz guitarist's 1986 appearance at the renowned music festival.

The virtuoso jazz guitarist, vocalist, and songwriter, has been a frequent guest of the celebrated festival over many years, and has personally chosen this performance as his first from Montreux to be released as a live set. It shows Benson at the height of his mid-1980s powers, in his element on tracks that capture his enormous appeal on hits to that point in his career such as “On Broadway,” “Lady Love Me (One More Time),” “In Your Eyes,” “Love X Love,” and “20/20.”

Other hits from Benson’s long run of bestselling pop and soul singles in the set include “Never Give Up On A Good Thing,” “Turn Your Love Around,” and his huge ballad success “The Greatest Love Of All.” The set also embraces some of his favorite covers to play live, such as an opening version of Roberta Flack’s 1974 pop and R&B No.1 “Feel Like Making Love,” Bobby Darin’s “Beyond The Sea,” and L.T.D.’s first hit and 1976 No.1 “Love Ballad”, which Benson turned into his own No.3 hit on Billboard‘s R&B chart (and Top 20 pop crossover) in 1979.

With a style that would influence generations to come, the music of George Benson continues to maintain a quality of timelessness. This is expertly captured on Live at Montreux 1986.

George Benson

Digitally remastered

Born on March 22, 1943 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Benson showed prodigious talent from an early age, winning a singing contest when he was only four years old and enjoying a short career as a child radio performer under the name of “Little Georgie Benson.” He started playing the guitar when he was eight, but it was as a vocalist that he spent much of his vast musical energy as a teenager, organizing and performing with a succession of rhythm-and-blues and rock bands around Pittsburgh. He made recordings for RCA Victor’s X Records subsidiary in the middle 1950s. But Benson’s stepfather encouraged his instrumental efforts by constructing a guitar for him, and in his late teens he began to concentrate exclusively on guitar. Seeking out the music of modern jazz’s golden age, he became more and more interested in jazz, and was particularly inspired by recordings of saxophonist Charlie Parker and guitarists Charlie Christian and Grant Green.

Discovered by John Hammond: In 1961 Benson jumped to the national stage when he joined the group backing jazz organist Jack McDuff. He played and recorded with McDuff for four years. Then he struck out on his own: he moved to New York City, then the capital of the jazz universe, and formed his own band. There Benson made two acquaintances who proved crucial in setting him on the path to jazz stardom: guitarist Wes Montgomery, whose soft tone and graceful octave playing provided Benson with his most important stylistic inspiration, and Columbia Records producer and executive John Hammond, whose unerring eye for talent brought

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO