Shostakovich: Film Music, Vol. 2 - Golden Mountains / The Gadfly / Volochayev Days BBC Philharmonic Orchestra & Vassily Sinaisky

Album info



Label: Chandos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Artist: BBC Philharmonic Orchestra & Vassily Sinaisky

Composer: Dmitri Shostakovich (1906–1975)

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.40
  • Dmitri Shostakovich (1906 - 1975): Zlatiye gori (Golden mountains), Op. 30:
  • 1Zlatiye gori (Golden mountains), Op. 30: I. Introduction: Moderato01:21
  • 2Zlatiye gori (Golden mountains), Op. 30: II. Waltz: Andante - Più mosso - III: Fugue: Largo - Allegro04:48
  • 3Zlatiye gori (Golden mountains), Op. 30: IV. Intermezzo: Andante —04:01
  • 4Zlatiye gori (Golden mountains), Op. 30: V. Funeral March: Largo —02:12
  • 5Zlatiye gori (Golden mountains), Op. 30: VI. Finale: Largo02:00
  • The Gadfly Suite, Op. 97a:
  • 6The Gadfly Suite, Op. 97a: I. Overture: Moderato con moto02:45
  • 7The Gadfly Suite, Op. 97a: II. Contradance: Moderato02:46
  • 8The Gadfly Suite, Op. 97a: III. Folk Festival02:32
  • 9The Gadfly Suite, Op. 97a: IV. Interlude: Adagio —02:18
  • 10The Gadfly Suite, Op. 97a: V. Barrel-organ Waltz: Allegretto02:04
  • 11The Gadfly Suite, Op. 97a: VI. Galop: Allegro01:56
  • 12The Gadfly Suite, Op. 97a: VII. Introduction: Andantino06:23
  • 13The Gadfly Suite, Op. 97a: VIII. Romance: Allegro moderato - Andante con moto06:33
  • 14The Gadfly Suite, Op. 97a: IX. Intermezzo: Andante - Moderato - Tempo I05:07
  • 15The Gadfly Suite, Op. 97a: X. Nocturne: Moderato03:42
  • 16The Gadfly Suite, Op. 97a: XI. Scene: Moderato02:51
  • 17The Gadfly Suite, Op. 97a: XII. Finale: Allegro non troppo - Allegro vivace - Moderato con moto03:16
  • Volochayevskiye dni (Volochayev Days), Op. 48:
  • 18Volochayevskiye dni (Volochayev Days), Op. 48: Overture: Allegretto02:05
  • 19Volochayevskiye dni (Volochayev Days), Op. 48: The Japanese Attack: Allegretto03:34
  • 20Volochayevskiye dni (Volochayev Days), Op. 48: [Fragment] Allegro - Maestoso - Meno mosso03:36
  • Total Runtime01:05:50

Info for Shostakovich: Film Music, Vol. 2 - Golden Mountains / The Gadfly / Volochayev Days

The main item in this second volume of Shostakovich film music on Chandos is the popular Suite from The Gadfly, whose "Romance" became an instant hit as the theme from the British TV series Reilly: Ace of Spies (it was well known in Russia long before). This newcomer is certainly exciting and full of contrast and color, with a very dreamy "Romance" and a much brasher treatment of such extravert segments as the "Folk Festival" than we hear on Chailly's suavely polished Decca recording (to cite the most noteworthy among the competition). The result is arguably more "Russian" in feel, though I wouldn't give up the playing of the Concertgebouw for any amount of money.

"Shostakovich hated writing for films. Yet the melodic invention , orchestration and atmospheric variety of these scores completely belies their money-earning inspiration' Vivid recording, compelling performances." (Classic FM Magazine)

"The Chandos issue will appeal to film music buffs and Shostakovich completists, but it deserves to reach a wider audience given the flair and dynamism of the music-making and the high quotient of tunes. As I observed last time round, Sinaisky is always right inside the idiom, just the man for the job." (Gramophone)

"As ever with this partnership, the BBC Philharmonic players pull out all the stops for their principal guest conductor Vassily Sinaisky, and the music-making is lively and distinctive." (The Telegraph)

BBC Philharmonic
Vassily Sinaisky, conductor

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO