Salgado: Chamber Music, Vol. 1 Kansas Virtuosi

Cover Salgado: Chamber Music, Vol. 1

Album info



Label: Naxos

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Kansas Virtuosi

Composer: Luis Humberto Salgado (1903-1977)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 9.00
  • Luis Humberto Salgado (1903 - 1977): Viola Sonata:
  • 1Salgado: Viola Sonata: I. Adagio in tempo rubato - Allegro animato08:59
  • 2Salgado: Viola Sonata: II. Allegretto - Andante sostenuto ed espressivo07:10
  • 3Salgado: Viola Sonata: III. Allegro energico04:07
  • Selene "Trío programático":
  • 4Salgado: Selene "Trío programático": I. Partida07:42
  • 5Salgado: Selene "Trío programático": II. Alunizaje05:20
  • 6Salgado: Selene "Trío programático": III. Retorno03:31
  • Cello Sonata:
  • 7Salgado: Cello Sonata: I. Allegro con ánima06:43
  • 8Salgado: Cello Sonata: II. Andante sostenuto06:29
  • 9Salgado: Cello Sonata: III. Quasi recitativo - Allegro giusto04:17
  • Woodwind Quintet:
  • 10Salgado: Woodwind Quintet: I. Allegro con vita07:45
  • 11Salgado: Woodwind Quintet: II. Andante sostenuto07:04
  • 12Salgado: Woodwind Quintet: III. Allegretto giocoso04:49
  • Total Runtime01:13:56

Info for Salgado: Chamber Music, Vol. 1

Luis Humberto Salgado was an essentially self-taught Ecuadorian composer inspired equally by the folk music of his country and by currents in contemporary modernism. He defined himself as a ‘polytechnic’ composer, absorbing folk motifs and individual dances into an eclectic, vibrant and highly personal idiom. This can be heard in the Viola Sonata where the lively sanjuanito indigenous dance is evoked in music of sophisticated harmonies. The Cello Sonata is more neo-Classical, while Selene commemorates the moon landing of 1969 in striking, unconventional sonorities. Salgado’s Woodwind Quintet combines pentatonic scales and serial techniques to create a ‘polychrome fabric’.

Kansas Virtuosi

The Kansas Virtuosi
are artist faculty members and advanced graduate students of the School of Music at the University of Kansas. With individual performance credentials spanning six continents, major symphony orchestras, and leading opera and musical theatre companies, the ensemble represents the finest collection of musical artists in the state of Kansas and the American Heartland.

Concerts include diverse chamber music repertoire, including traditional masterpieces, little-known musical gems, and cutting-edge new compositions. Featuring a variety of performers, programmes are designed to offer audiences a satisfying diversity of musical styles and instrumental/vocal combinations.

Booklet for Salgado: Chamber Music, Vol. 1

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO