Ravel: Valses nobles et sentimentales, M. 61 Bertrand Chamayou

Album info



Label: Warner Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Bertrand Chamayou

Composer: Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Maurice Ravel (1875 - 1937): Ravel: Valses nobles et sentimentales, M. 61:
  • 1Valses nobles et sentimentales, M. 61: No. 1, Modéré01:18
  • 2Valses nobles et sentimentales, M. 61: No. 2, Assez lent02:28
  • 3Valses nobles et sentimentales, M. 61: No. 3, Modéré01:18
  • 4Valses nobles et sentimentales, M. 61: No. 4, Assez animé01:12
  • 5Valses nobles et sentimentales, M. 61: No. 5, Presque lent01:19
  • 6Valses nobles et sentimentales, M. 61: No. 6, Vif00:42
  • 7Valses nobles et sentimentales, M. 61: No. 7, Moins vif02:22
  • 8Valses nobles et sentimentales, M. 61: No. 8, Épilogue. Lent04:53
  • Total Runtime15:32

Info for Ravel: Valses nobles et sentimentales, M. 61

The Valses nobles et sentimentales is a suite of waltzes composed by Maurice Ravel. The piano version was published in 1911, and an orchestral version was published in 1912. The title was chosen in homage to Franz Schubert, who had released collections of waltzes in 1823 entitled Valses nobles and Valses sentimentales. The piano edition is published with a quotation of Henri de Régnier: "…le plaisir délicieux et toujours nouveau d'une occupation inutile" (the delicious and forever-new pleasure of a useless occupation).

Ravel was intrigued by the waltz genre. By 1906 he had started composing what later would become La valse, in which he tried to epitomise everything this popular genre encompassed. In 1911, prior to the 1919 publication of La valse, he published the piano version of his suite of eight Valses nobles et sentimentales. The work was first performed on May 8, 1911 by Louis Aubert, to whom the work is dedicated, at a performance of new works where the composers were not identified. It was sponsored by the Société musicale indépendante, to promote the works of more adventurous composers, without "burdening" critics with the attached labels of authorship. This was in theory supposed to encourage the critics to evaluate what they actually heard rather than simply judging the piece by the name of the composer.

Bertrand Chamayou, piano

Bertrand Chamayou
has established himself as a personality of the highest level on the international music scene, performing in venues like the Théâtre des Champs Elysées, New York’s Lincoln Center, the Herkulessaal, Musikfest Bremen, Wigmore Hall, New York’s Mostly Mozart Festival, Lucerne Festival, Rheingau Festival, Rotterdam Gergiev Festival, Klavier-Festival Ruhr, and orchestras like the Orchestre de Paris, the London Philharmonic Orchestra, the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra, the Deutsche Kammer Philharmonie, the Deutsche Radio Philharmonie, the Hessischer Rundfunk Sinfonieorchester, the WDR Sinfonie Orchester, the SWR Sinfonie Orchester, the Orchestre National de France, the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, the Danish National Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestre Symphonique de Québec. Bertrand has worked with conductors such as Pierre Boulez, Leonard Slatkin, Neville Marriner, Semyon Bychkov, Michel Plasson, Louis Langrée, Fabien Gabel, Joshua Weilerstein, Jérémie Rhorer, Stéphane Denève, Ludovic Morlot, Andris Nelson.

In the 2013/14 season, Bertrand will debut with the Deutsche Sinfonie Orchester at Berlin’s Philharmonie with Stéphane Denève the NDR Sinfonie Orchester in Hamburg with Semyon Bychkov and the Oregon Symphony Orchestra, ; he will return with the Hessischer Rundfunk Orchester in Frankfurt’s Alte Oper, will tour with Ludovic Morlot and his Orchestre de la Monnaie de Bruxelles, will return for an evening recital at Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and be given a residency with the Orchetsre National de Bordeaux in their brand new auditorium including several orchestral performances, recitals and a tour. He will also tour in the United-States and play a recital at New York’s Lincoln Center.

Bertrand Chamayou released a very successful César Franck CD in March 2010, which was awarded several prizes including Gramophone’s Editor’s Choice. In 2008 his Mendelssohn CD had also been a wide success. He had released in 2006 a very successful Liszt live CD (Transcendental Etudes) for Sony Classical. In 2011, he celebrated Liszt’ 200th anniversary recording the complete Years of Pilgrimage for Naive which he also performed in several venues throughout the world. The album received raving reviews worldwide and got several prizes including Gramophone ‘s Choice. He played the same year with Pierre Boulez and the Orchestre de Paris at Salle Pleyel,. In February 2011, he won a Victoire de la Musique as “Soloist of the Year”.

At 20, Bertrand was a prize-winner at the international Long- Thibaud competition . Born in 1981, Bertrand was very soon remarked by pianist Jean-François Heisser who was later to become his professor at Paris Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique. Bertrand Chamayou completed his training then with Maria Curcio in London and was given precious advice by such great masters as Leon Fleisher, Dimitri Bashkirov and Murray Perahia.

Betrrand has been a regular chamber music player with partners including Renaud and Gautier Capuçon, Quatuor Ebène, Antoine Tamestit, Baiba Skride, Sol Gabetta, Nicolas Baldeyrou. He now regularly performs throughout the world with Sol Gabetta.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO