De vez en cuando la vida: Joan Manuel Serrat y el siglo de oro Cappella Mediterranea & Leonardo García Alarcón

Album info



Label: Alpha

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 88.2 $ 15.00
  • Joan Manuel Serrat (1943 - ):
  • 1Romance de Curro "El Palmo" (Arranged by Quito Gato)08:06
  • 2Mediterráneo (Arranged by Quito Gato)04:34
  • 3De vez en cuando la vida (Arranged by Quito Gato)03:50
  • Francisco Valls (1665 - 1747):
  • 4Esta vez, Cupidillo03:06
  • Lucas R. de Ribayaz (1626 - 1667):
  • 5Xácaras por primer tono (Arranged by Quito Gato)02:27
  • 6La canço dell ladre (Arranged by Quito Gato)03:57
  • Juan Bautista José Cavanilles (1644 - 1712):
  • 7Mortales que amáis09:27
  • Joan Manuel Serrat (1943 - ):
  • 8Pare (Arranged by Quito Gato)06:36
  • Mateo Flecha "El Viejo" (1481 - 1553):
  • 9La bomba10:21
  • Joan Manuel Serrat (1943 - ):
  • 10La presó de Lleida (Arranged by Quito Gato)05:00
  • Federico Mompou (1893 - 1987):
  • 11Música callada (Transcription for Harp & Arrangement by Quito Gato)01:28
  • Joan Manuel Serrat (1943 - ):
  • 12Aquellas pequeñas cosas (Arranged by Quito Gato)02:58
  • Total Runtime01:01:50

Info for De vez en cuando la vida: Joan Manuel Serrat y el siglo de oro

Leonardo García Alarcón writes: “The memories of my childhood in Argentina always bring me back to the singer-songwriter Joan Manuel Serrat, synonymous with shared family moments… Serrat’s poetry and music around a barbecue in Argentina; “De vez en cuando la vida” made me cry as it has made millions of people cry in Latin America, Spain and elsewhere… Joan Manuel Serrat is part of our life, he is our Jacques Brel!... Or, if we project ourselves back to the sixteenth century, he is in a sense our little Camerata Fiorentina, that movement of Italian poets and musicians in Florence. Serrat has allowed the whole of Latin America and Spain to reappropriate the works of its poets… He has also been synonymous with freedom and the struggle against dictatorial regimes. His song “Mediterraneo” is one of the emblematic pieces of his career. It is almost a hymn that has special resonance nowadays… I asked my good friend Quito Gato to arrange these songs for our ensemble, Cappella Mediterranea. The orchestration retains typical seventeenth-century instruments: recorders, cornett, violins, viola da gamba, cellos, lutes, harp, harpsichord, organ, with some percussion and a double bass. These period instruments allow us to travel back in time and compare Serrat’s romances with the Ensaladas of Mateo Flecha (1481-1553), the polyphony of Guillaume Dufay, and a composition by Juan Cabanilles that recalls a Bach Passion. The Xacaras, a satirical genre from the Spanish Golden Age dialogues with Serrat’s works, as does the Música callada of the Catalan composer Frederic Mompou, transcribed here for the harp.”

Cappella Mediterranea
Leonardo García Alarcón, direction

The Ensemble Cappella Mediterranea
was founded in 2005 by Leonardo Garcia Alarcón. As indicated by his name, this ensemble is originally impassioned by the music’s of the Mediterranean basin, and intends to propose another approach of the Latin Baroque music.

10 years later, the repertory of Cappella Mediterranea considerably widened. With more than 45 concerts per year, the ensemble explores, amongst others, the madrigal, the polyphonic motet and opera. A mixt which gives a very particular style,pervaded by a rare complicity between the director and his musicians.

The enthusiastic encounters of Cappella Mediterranea with some neglected scores, its original reading of the repertory, its concerts mixed with theatre and dance and it’s recordings are highly regarded.

The success in 2010 of Il Diluvio Universale by Michelangelo Falvetti was an outstanding moment. It widened considerably the audience of the ensemble and of Leonardo García Alarcón.

Cappella Mediterranea performs in prestigious venues and festivals: Ambronay, Festival of Saint Denis near Paris, Victoria Hall in Geneva, the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris, the Château de Versailles, the Konzerthaus in Vienna, the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Canergie Hall in New-York, the Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires…The list is endless. Cappella Mediterranea won great acclaim in 2013 at the opera Festival of Aix-en-Provence with Cavalli’s opera Elena.

Since then, Cappella Mediterranea is considered one of the main ensemble for opera productions and receives many invitations to leading opera houses.In 2016, Cappella introduced Cavalli to the repertory of the National Opera of Paris at the Palais Garnier with Eliogabalo, which was also given at the Opera of Amsterdam in 2017. In 2017, the ensemble also performed again at the opera Festival of Aix-en-Provence, the Royal Opéra of Versailles and the Grand Théâtre of Geneva with Erismena or Il Giasone by Cavalli. In 2018, Cappella Mediterranea will start a residence at Opéra de Dijon for several years.

The discography of Cappella Mediterranea includes around twenty titles on various labels: Ricercar, Naïve, Ambronay and Alpha Classic.

Its recordings of music by BarbaraStrozzi, Giovanni Giorgi, Giuseppe Zamponi and Michelangelo Falvetti are regarded as benchmarks. They gained many awards: Editor’s Choice of BBC, Diamant d’Or of Opéra Magazine, Choc for Classica, Diapason d’Or, ffff forTélérama, etc...

Strozzi Virtuosissima Compositrice has been nominated at the MidemClassical Awards in 2010, Sogno Barocco with Anne Sofie Von Otter was nominated for the Grammy Awards 2013 in Los Angeles. I 7 Peccati Capitali was nominated in the «best recording category» for Les Victoires de la Musique 2017.

Leonardo García Alarcón
After studying the piano in Argentina, Leonardo García Alarcón moved to Europe in 1997 for advanced studies at the Conservatoire de Musique de Genève in the harpsichord class of Christiane Jaccottet. He was a member of Ensemble Elyma, and became Gabriel Garrido’s assistant before founding his own ensemble, Cappella Mediterranea, in 2005. From 2010 to 2013, he was in residence at the Centre Culturel de Rencontre d’Ambronay, where he is now an associate artist.

In 2010, he was appointed artistic director and principal conductor of the Choeur de Chambre de Namur. In 2015, he founded the Millenium Orchestra. He is also a professor of harpsichord conducting and Baroque vocal interpretation at the Conservatoire de Musique de Genève.

His discography—with Cappella Mediterranea, the Namur Chamber Choir, and Millenium Orchestra—has received widespread critical acclaim.

As a conductor and harpsichordist, he is invited to perform at festivals and concert halls the world over, including the opera houses of Montpellier, Lyon, Nantes, Rennes, and Lille; Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires; Concertgebouw in Amsterdam; Opéra de Monte-Carlo; Théâtre des Champs-Élysées in Paris; Wigmore Hall in London; and Teatro Massimo in Palermo. He has conducted the Gulbenkian Orchestra in Lisbon, Orchestre de Chambre de Paris, and Freiburger Barockorchester, among others.

Since its first modern performance under his direction in 2011, Falvetti’s Il diluvio universale has been heard all over Europe, with concerts scheduled in 2016 and 2017 at the Vienna Konzerthaus and venues in Versailles and Geneva.

Following the success of Cavalli’s Elena at the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence in 2013, Leonardo García Alarcón also has been invited to appear at international opera houses, including the Teatro de la Zarzuela in Madrid, Opéra national de Paris, and Dutch National Opera and Ballet in Amsterdam.

In 2017, he will conduct three of Cavalli’s operas: Giasone in Geneva, Erismena in Aix-en-Provence, and Eliogabalo in Amsterdam. He also will lead Monteverdi’s Orfeo in Europe this spring, before taking it on tour to South America next fall.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO