Album info



Label: Brushfire / Republic Records

Genre: Pop

Subgenre: Pop Rock

Artist: Bahamas

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Girls Bugging Me.m4a00:55
  • 2Just A Song03:57
  • 3Working On My Guitar03:15
  • 4I'm Still05:29
  • 5Somebody Just Like Me02:34
  • 6Second Time Around02:50
  • 7Into The Unkown02:49
  • 8Sports Car04:09
  • 9The Only One03:51
  • 10Gone Girl Gone03:48
  • 11Nothing Blows My Mind04:01
  • Total Runtime37:38

Info for BOOTCUT

Acclaimed, award-winning artist Bahamas (a.k.a. Afie Jurvanen) will release his new album Bootcut on September 15th via Brushfire Records. Recorded in Nashville, TN at the legendary Sound Emporium studio, Bootcut seamlessly combines Bahamas’ signature, genre-bending blend of quirky pop, R&B, folk, soul, alternative and dashes of clever wit with Jurvanen’s love of classic country music.

With Grammy-nominated producer/engineer Robbie Lackritz (Feist, Jack Johnson, Alvvays) and Dan Knobler (Allison Russell, Rodney Crowell) at the helm, Jurvanen enlisted a who’s who of Nashville’s finest to record Bootcut, including country icon/guitarist Vince Gill, harmonica wizard Mickey Raphael (Willie Nelson), pedal steel maestro Russ Pahl (Kenny Rogers, Sturgill Simpson), legendary bassist Dave Roe (Johnny Cash, Dwight Yoakam, Jerry Reed), mandolin master Sam Bush (Dolly Parton, Linda Ronstadt), keyboardist Jen Gunderman (The Jayhawks), and drummer Jon Radford (Brendan Benson, Nikki Lane).

Along with the easy flowing “Somebody Just Like Me,” the beautiful ballad “Second Time Around,” and the country folk of “Working On My Guitar,” Nashville’s influence permeates the album, particularly on tracks such as album opener “Just A Song,” “Sports Car,” and “Into The Unknown.” On the flipside, tracks such as the funky “I’m Still,” the melodic, acoustic ditty “The Only One,” and the intimate vocal and lonesome piano of album closer “Nothing Blows My Mind” find Bahamas being classic Bahamas.


Afie Jurvanen
isn’t from the Bahamas. He’s a Finnish-Canadian from Barrie–a working class town in rural Ontario. But his chosen epithet is fitting. Since 2009 he’s been making music under the name Bahamas–writing songs about sunsets, love affairs, and making out with crooked smiles. Through simple arrangements, he charts an escape route from the snow belt to the coral reefs. His new album, Bahamas Is Afie, will be released August 19, 2014 on Brushfire Records/Universal.

Bahamas is Afie is a coming of age record. Self-titled and self-produced – It is the next step in the evolution of Jurvanen’s songcraft, guitar mastery, and melodic pop hooks – following his previous full-lengths Pink Strat (2009) and Barchords (2011). Bahamas is Afie remains a sparse, moving, headphone album, complemented by a more developed arrangement of strings, brass, winds, orchestral percussion, and chamber choruses that transport the listener from moving seas to a search for strength, to a place of resolve and comfort.

“This feels like a self-titled record to me. The songs seem to have a definitive quality to them, and they ended up going to all kinds of unexpected musical places. I really thought I was going to make a traditional folk record but as the recording evolved I started having some pretty different ideas. I started playing this game like, ‘what would 80s Van Morrison do if he were producing this?’ or ‘what about John Williams?’ It all came together in a simple, naive and direct way and I was really energized by the process. And I got to play a lot of guitar…I feel like I’ll get another chance to make a folkie record somewhere down the road. For now, this is me.”

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO