Go Placidly with Haste Jason Treuting

Cover Go Placidly with Haste

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 14.50
  • 1Desiderata Side A04:29
  • 21927/​Is Ciumhin Lion02:48
  • 3Build Down02:54
  • 4White Diamond05:57
  • 5Desiderata Side B03:15
  • 6Watt Pond03:36
  • 7Slow Moving​/​Go 'way From My Window03:17
  • 8Build Up03:34
  • 9Blue Triangle04:25
  • 10Pink Triangle14:08
  • 11Desiderata Side D​/​thing I inherited from my grandma03:26
  • 12Orange Arrow05:36
  • 13Four Lines​/​Me Voy04:10
  • 14For Max01:53
  • Total Runtime01:03:28

Info for Go Placidly with Haste

Go placidly amid the noise and haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence. — Max Ehrmann, “Desiderata” (1927)

The ostensible follow-up to Sō Percussion co-founder and composer Jason Treuting's ambitious work Nine Numbers, Go Placidly with Haste is a multi-movement sonic meditation that actually bears a more distinct connection to Treuting's early work Amid the Noise (2006) — which began as a soundtrack, then morphed into Sō Percussion's third album, and from there into a communal music-making project that can occur with a flexible number of musicians in almost any combination.

Go Placidly takes up that thread and weaves it into a vivid tapestry of moods, styles and genres, from the oddly folk-inflected strains of "1927" (featuring Irish singer and Afro Celt Sound System mainstay Iarla Ó Lionáird) to the Eno-esque keyboards and electronics of "White Diamond," the frenetic and angular "Build Up," the mournful and stately "Slow Moving Chords" (with singer-songwriter Sam Amidon), the groove-chasing "Four Lines" (with composer and singer Angélica Negrón) and plenty more. By turns whimsical, expansive and exploratory, this is new music in the most thrilling and adventurous sense of the word.

Jason Treuting
A founding and current member of the influential quartet, Sō Percussion, composer/percussionist Jason Treuting has appeared in performance throughout the world, from the Barbican to Lincoln Center, to Carnegie Hall, DOM Moscow, Walt Disney Hall, and elsewhere. His compositions, widely noted for their compelling rhythmic language and evocative expressivity, have been performed by artists including Shara Nova, the JACK Quartet, TIGUE, Susan Marshall and Company, and others.

Additionally, Treuting explores and composes music in collaboration with artists including laptop artist/composer Cenk Ergun; guitarist Grey Mcmurray; and guitarist/composer Steve Mackey (their New Amsterdam album, Orpheus Unsung, has received widespread critical acclaim), among others.

Treuting’s original compositions include Amid the Noise, an evolving suite of musical explorations scored for a flexible range of instruments; this work has been performed widely by Sō Percussion, Matmos and other artists, at the Lincoln Center Festival, the Barbican, the Walker Arts Center, National Sawdust, and elsewhere. It has been presented by Fast Forward Austin, Kadence Arts Boston, Chatterbird, and others, and was recorded by Sō Percussion for release on Cantaloupe Records.

Treuting’s other works for Sō include contributions to Imaginary City, Where (we) Live and A Gun Show, works which appeared on the Brooklyn Academy of Music’s Next Wave Festival. Recent commissions for other ensembles have included Oblique Music for 4 plus (blank), a concerto for Sō Percussion and string orchestra for the League of Composers Orchestra; and most recently, Nine Numbers 4, a commission from the Composers Guild of New Jersey and performed in 2018 at Princeton University.

He received his Bachelors in Music and the Performer’s Certificate at the Eastman School of Music where he studied percussion with John Beck and drum set and improvisation with Steve Gadd, Ralph Alessi and Michael Cain. He received his Masters in Music along with an Artist Diploma from Yale University where he studied percussion with Robert Van Sice. Jason Treuting studied marimba with Keiko Abe in Japan, and gamelan with Pac I Nyoman Suadin in Bali.

Jason Treuting is co-director of the Sō Percussion Summer Institute, an annual intensive course on the campus of Princeton University for college-aged percussionists. He is also co-director of a new percussion program at the Bard College Conservatory of Music, and is a lecturer of music at Princeton University, where Sō Percussion is ensemble-in-residence. He lives in Princeton, New Jersey with his wife, the violist Beth Meyers, and their two daughters.

Booklet for Go Placidly with Haste

© 2010-2024 HIGHRESAUDIO