Grieg: Lyric Pieces - Mendelssohn: Lieder ohne Worte Denis Kozhukhin

Cover Grieg: Lyric Pieces - Mendelssohn: Lieder ohne Worte

Album info



Label: PentaTone

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Denis Kozhukhin

Composer: Edvard Grieg (1843–1907), Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809-1847)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.00
DSD 64 $ 14.00
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809 - 1847): Lieder ohne Worte, Book 1, Op. 19b (Excerpts):
  • 1Lieder ohne Worte, Book 1, Op. 19b (Excerpts): No. 1 in E Major, MWV U 8602:58
  • 2Lieder ohne Worte, Book 1, Op. 19b (Excerpts): No. 2 in A Minor, MWV U 8002:38
  • 3Lieder ohne Worte, Book 1, Op. 19b (Excerpts): No. 3 in A Major, MWV U 89 "Jägerlied"02:33
  • 4Lieder ohne Worte, Book 1, Op. 19b (Excerpts): No. 5 in F-Sharp Minor, MWV U 9003:33
  • Lieder ohne Worte, Book 2, Op. 30 (Excerpts):
  • 5Lieder ohne Worte, Book 2, Op. 30 (Excerpts): No. 2 in B-Flat Minor, MWV U 7702:13
  • 6Lieder ohne Worte, Book 2, Op. 30 (Excerpts): No. 6 in F-Sharp Minor, MWV U 110 "Venetianisches Gondellied"02:52
  • Lieder ohne Worte, Book 3, Op. 38 (Excerpts):
  • 7Lieder ohne Worte, Book 3, Op. 38 (Excerpts): No. 2 in C Minor, MWV U 11502:13
  • 8Lieder ohne Worte, Book 3, Op. 38 (Excerpts): No. 6 in A-Flat Major, MWV U 119 "Duetto"03:17
  • Lieder ohne Worte, Book 5, Op. 62:
  • 9Lieder ohne Worte, Book 5, Op. 62: No. 3 in E Minor, MWV U 177 "Trauermarsch"02:56
  • Lieder ohne Worte, Book 6, Op. 67 (Excerpts):
  • 10Lieder ohne Worte, Book 6, Op. 67 (Excerpts): No. 2 in F-Sharp Minor, MWV U 14502:38
  • 11Lieder ohne Worte, Book 6, Op. 67 (Excerpts): No. 4 in C Major, MWV U 182 "Spinnerlied"02:00
  • Lieder ohne Worte, Book 8, Op. 102:
  • 12Lieder ohne Worte, Book 8, Op. 102: No. 3 in C Major, MWV U 195 "Kinderstück"01:17
  • Edvard Grieg (1843 - 1907): Lyric Pieces, Op. 12 (Excerpts):
  • 13Lyric Pieces, Op. 12 (Excerpts): No. 1, Arietta01:10
  • 14Lyric Pieces, Op. 12 (Excerpts): No. 2, Vals01:40
  • 15Lyric Pieces, Op. 12 (Excerpts): No. 4, Alfedans00:58
  • Lyric Pieces, Op. 38 (Excerpts):
  • 16Lyric Pieces, Op. 38 (Excerpts): No. 4, Halling00:58
  • 17Lyric Pieces, Op. 38 (Excerpts): No. 6, Elegi02:26
  • Lyric Pieces, Op. 43 (Excerpts):
  • 18Lyric Pieces, Op. 43 (Excerpts): No. 1, Sommerfugl02:04
  • 19Lyric Pieces, Op. 43 (Excerpts): No. 4, Liden fugl01:49
  • 20Lyric Pieces, Op. 43 (Excerpts): No. 6, Til foråret02:45
  • Lyric Pieces, Op. 47:
  • 21Lyric Pieces, Op. 47: No. 7, Elegi02:57
  • Lyric Pieces, Op. 54 (Excerpts):
  • 22Lyric Pieces, Op. 54 (Excerpts): No. 3, Trolltog03:07
  • 23Lyric Pieces, Op. 54 (Excerpts): No. 4, Notturno03:02
  • 24Lyric Pieces, Op. 54 (Excerpts): No. 5, Scherzo03:10
  • Lyric Pieces, Op. 62:
  • 25Lyric Pieces, Op. 62: No. 4, Bækken01:53
  • Lyric Pieces, Op. 65:
  • 26Lyric Pieces, Op. 65: No. 6, Bryllupsdag på Troldhaugen06:09
  • Total Runtime01:05:16

Info for Grieg: Lyric Pieces - Mendelssohn: Lieder ohne Worte

On his new solo album, Russian star pianist Denis Kozhukhin presents a personal and colourful collection of character pieces taken from Mendelssohn’s Lieder ohne Worte and Edvard Grieg’s Lyric Pieces. Combing these miniature gems by two outstanding poets of music, Kozhukhin provides a shining example of how disarmingly touching and penetrating a simple song or a vision of nature captured in sound can be.

The programme features classics such as Mendelssohn’s Venetian Gondola Song and Grieg’s Wedding Day at Troldhaugen, as well as less famous but equally enchanting pieces. Kozukhin lifts out the noble simplicity of these works with his delicate playing.

Denis Kozhukhin has established himself as one of the greatest pianists of his generation. He now presents the fifth chapter to his exclusive collaboration with PENTATONE, after albums with the piano concertos of Grieg and Tchaikovsky (2016), Brahms Ballades and Fantasies (2017), Ravel and Gershwin piano concertos, as well as Richard Strauss’ Burleske (both 2018).

Denis Kozhukhin, piano

Denis Kozhukhin
Kozhukhin’s playing is characterised by an extraordinary technical mastery balanced by a sharp intelligence, calm maturity and wisdom. Kozhukhin has that rare and special gift of creating an immediate and compelling emotional connection with his audience.

Since winning First Prize at the 2010 Queen Elisabeth Competition in Brussels, Kozhukhin has quickly established a formidable reputation and has already appeared at many of the world’s most prestigious festivals and concert halls including the Verbier Festival, where he won the Prix d’Honneur in 2003, Progetto Martha Argerich in Lugano, Berliner Philharmonie, Kölner Philharmonie, Klavier-Festival Ruhr, Rheingau Music Festival, Jerusalem International Chamber Music Festival, Carnegie Hall, Leipzig Gewandhaus, Munich Herkulessaal, Rotterdam De Doelen, Amsterdam Concertgebouw, Auditorio Nacional Madrid, Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia Milan, Théâtre du Châtelet and Auditorium du Louvre Paris.

In the 2015/16 season and beyond, Kozhukhin performs with orchestras including the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, San Francisco Symphony, Philharmonia, DSO Berlin, Frankfurt Radio, Philadelphia Orchestra, Orchestre National de France, Pittsburgh Symphony, Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart des SWR and Brussels Philharmonic.

The 2014/15 season included performances with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra/Morlot, Philadelphia Orchestra/Denève, BBC Symphony Orchestra/Oramo, Mariinsky Orchestra/Gergiev, Houston Symphony Orchestra/Hrusa, Netherlands Radio Philharmonic/Gimeno and Orquestra Sinfônica do Estado de São Paulo/Alsop. Kozhukhin also toured to China with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, and made his debut with an ensemble comprising soloists from the West Eastern Divan Orchestra under Barenboim at the Salzburg Festival and at the Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires.

As a recitalist, highlights of this season and beyond include returns to the Concertgebouw’s Master Pianists Series, Cologne Philharmonie, Wigmore Hall, Auditorium du Louvre in Paris and London’s International Piano Series, as well as debuts at the Lucerne Festival, Vienna Konzerthaus and the Boston Celebrity Series.

In September 2015 Denis Kozhukhin signed an exclusive recording contract with Pentatone. His first CD recording for Pentatone of Tchaikovsky Concerto No 1 and the Grieg Concerto with RSB Berlin and Vassily Sinaisky will be released in April 2016. His first solo recital disc under this contract will be of Brahms. Kozhukhin’s debut recording in 2013 was of Prokofiev’s Piano Sonatas Nos 6, 7 and 8 and he subsequently released a CD of Haydn Sonatas in September 2014 (both for Onyx Classics).

Born in Nizhni Novgorod, Russia, in 1986 into a family of musicians, Denis Kozhukhin began his piano studies at the age of four with his mother. As a boy, he attended the Balakirev School of Music where he studied under Natalia Fish. From 2000 to 2007, Kozhukhin was a pupil at the Reina Sofía School of Music in Madrid learning with Dimitri Bashkirov and Claudio Martinez-Mehner.

Upon graduating, he received his diploma personally from the Queen of Spain and was named best student in his year and twice best chamber group with his own Cervantes Trio. After his studies in Madrid, Kozhukhin was invited to study at the Piano Academy at Lake Como where he received tuition from amongst others Fou Ts’ong, Stanislav Yudenitch, Peter Frankl, Boris Berman, Charles Rosen and Andreas Staier. He completed his studies with Kirill Gerstein in Stuttgart.

Kozhukhin is a committed chamber musician and has worked with amongst others, Leonidas Kavakos, Renaud and Gautier Capuçon, Janine Jansen, Vadim Repin, Julian Rachlin, the Jerusalem Quartet, the Pavel Haas Quartet, Radovan Vlatkovic, Jörg Widmann and Alisa Weilerstein.

Booklet for Grieg: Lyric Pieces - Mendelssohn: Lieder ohne Worte

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO