Anton Zimmermann: Symphonies L'arte del mondo

Cover Anton Zimmermann: Symphonies

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Anton Zimmermann (1741 - 1781): Symphony in E Minor:
  • 1Symphony in E Minor: I. Allegro05:50
  • 2Symphony in E Minor: II. Andantino (con expressione)03:37
  • 3Symphony in E Minor: III. Menuet & Trio03:02
  • 4Symphony in E Minor: IV. Finale. Allegro02:44
  • Symphony in B-Flat Major:
  • 5Symphony in B-Flat Major: I. Adagio - Allegro06:45
  • 6Symphony in B-Flat Major: II. Allegretto scherzando04:31
  • 7Symphony in B-Flat Major: III. Finale. Tempo di Menuetto03:27
  • Symphony in C Minor:
  • 8Symphony in C Minor: I. Adagissimo04:22
  • 9Symphony in C Minor: II. Allegrissimo10:09
  • 10Symphony in C Minor: III. Andante10:28
  • 11Symphony in C Minor: IV. Finale. Allegro moderato04:36
  • Total Runtime59:31

Info for Anton Zimmermann: Symphonies

On its album, the orchestra l’arte del mondo, conducted by Werner Ehrhardt, presents three world premiere recordings of works by Silesian composer Anton Zimmermann (1741–1781). Not much is known about the composer’s short life of barely 40 years. But it is clear that Zimmermann lived in Bratislava at the beginning of the 1770s and became a key figure in the blossoming of cultural life. For example, he founded and organized the court orchestra of the Prince Primate of Hungary, Joseph von Batthyányi. His orchestra quickly developed into one of the best ensembles in the entire Danube region. Zimmermann composed a large number of works for regularly held concerts. In addition to sonatas, concertos and stage works, his impressive compositional oeuvre also includes some 40 symphonies. Produced with the support of Bayer Kultur and in co-production with the WDR, this recording features the E minor, B-flat major and C minor symphonies, which are well worth discovering and reveal music full of musical brilliance, extraordinary variety and unique richness of ideas.

"L’Arte del Mondo give the music suitable advocacy, playing with admirable confidence and accuracy. It’s a jolly good thing that musicians such as Ehrhardt and labels such as DHM continue to explore and enhance our understanding of the more marginal figures of the early Classical period." (Gramophone Magazine)

"What a discovery! And what an enthusiasm! L’Arte del mondo plays three Sturm and Drang symphonies by Austrian composer Anton Zimmermann. The music is highly original, effective, and richly orchestrated. The performances are vibrant and characterful." (

L'Arte del mondo
Werner Erhardt, conductor

No biography found.

Booklet for Anton Zimmermann: Symphonies

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO