The Irish Revolution Pól Brennan

Cover The Irish Revolution

Album info



Label: ARC

Genre: Soundtrack

Subgenre: Film

Artist: Pól Brennan

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 44.1 $ 14.50
  • 1Réabhóid04:21
  • 2The Revolt02:47
  • 3A Gaelic People04:39
  • 4IRA Goes to War03:55
  • 5Nationalism03:19
  • 6WW104:01
  • 7An Chéad Dáil03:33
  • 8Black 'n Tans04:28
  • 9IRA Strikes Back04:23
  • 10A General Election05:03
  • 11The Mansion House03:28
  • 12War Grinds On03:03
  • 13MacSwiney04:13
  • 14Ulster Unionists03:27
  • 15Volunteers and the Brigade08:25
  • 16Time to Call a Halt04:52
  • 17Partition03:16
  • 18Atlas of the Revolution02:18
  • Total Runtime01:13:31

Info for The Irish Revolution

In this stirring soundtrack of The Irish Revolution, Pól Brennan is joined by Steve Turner, Aiden O'Donnell and Nick Bailey, as well as his sister and fellow CLANNAD member Moya. His music captures the raw emotion sparked by historic events such as the Great Hunger of 1847 through to the Irish Civil War in 1922–1923, using moving tunes and mournful melodies to depict the sacrifices made by the Irish people in their quest for independence. Liner notes written by Cathal Goan.

‘The Irish Revolution’ is the latest album from renowned Irish composer and founding member of Clannad, Pól Brennan.

This collection of songs – originally produced as the soundtrack to the RTÉ documentary series from which the album takes its name – explores one of the most tumultuous times of the artist's homeland: the Irish revolutionary period and its War of Independence.

The pieces within chart the events of this troubled time for the Irish people and display the hallmarks for which Pól Brennan’s music is revered – emotional depth and powerful storytelling. Even without the pictures they were composed to accompany, the songs take you back to a turbulent time and elicit powerful feelings with an orchestral and imposing grace. Given the source of inspiration, one may not be surprised that many tracks deliver a sense of tension and foreboding.

With empathic artistry, Pól leads us through a myriad of emotions that warfare undoubtedly instils in a suffering population. From the ominous opening strings of ‘Réabhóid’ (Revolution), we travel the timeline and visit various historical flashpoints. Tension builds in ‘The Revolt’ as strings and drums combine to imply the uncertain future faced by those in 1919. The hypnotically intense strings of ‘IRA Goes to War’ allude to anxiety toward the impending hostilities, and the baleful bell tolling in ‘WWI’ signifies the terrible cost of conflict. Defiant drums of ‘IRA Strikes Back’ point to the escalation of engagements, and the persistent percussion of ‘War Grinds On’ evokes the relentless pressure of war. Yet, where there is despair, there must be hope. A symphony of strings, perhaps representative of a community, comes together for the track ‘A Gaelic People’. The hopeful harp of ‘An Chéad Dáil’ offers encouragement of resolution, and the lighter tones of flute and whistle are discovered, piercing the darkness throughout the album.

‘The Irish Revolution’ is a sweeping score that relays the significant events of the past. Events of which the Irish people still feel the impact to this day. Not simply a retelling of incidents, Brennan’s mastery of music shines a light on many facets of human nature – bad and good.

Conflict, suffering, and sadness are some of the darker aspects explored, yet in a reflection of the indomitable human spirit, resilience, determination, and, ultimately, hope shine through. A work of beauty, poignancy, power, and pathos.

Pól Brennan is an Irish singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, composer, and producer. A founding member of the world-renowned band Clannad, Pol’s musical career spans over five decades. Immersed in traditional Irish music from a young age, Brennan’s passion has taken him further afield, led to collaborations with some of the music world's biggest names, and seen him develop a unique style that blends the traditional with the novel, drawing inspiration from many genres and cultures. He has produced music for television and film and is recognised as one of the most influential artists in the history of Irish music.

Aidan O Donnell, double bass
Steve Turner, guitar
Nicky Bailey, guitar
Moya Brennan, vocals

Pól Brennan
is an Irish musician, singer, and songwriter, best known as a founding member of the world-renowned band Clannad. Born in Gweedore, County Donegal, Brennan's music career spans over four decades, during which he has released numerous albums and collaborated with some of the biggest names in the music industry. Brennan's unique blend of traditional Irish folk music and contemporary sounds has won him critical acclaim and a legion of devoted fans. His music is known for its emotional depth and powerful storytelling, making him one of the most influential figures in Irish music history.

Coming soon… the ‘Irish Revolution’ album, featuring music heard in RTE’s 2019 mini-series of the same name, is releasing internationally on ARC Music, 22nd September 2023.

Booklet for The Irish Revolution

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO