Brahms, Schumann & Dietrich: Violin Sonatas Op. 100 & 108 Isabelle Faust & Alexander Melnikov

Cover Brahms, Schumann & Dietrich: Violin Sonatas Op. 100 & 108

Album info



Label: harmonia mundi

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Isabelle Faust & Alexander Melnikov

Composer: Johannes Brahms (1833-1897), Robert Schumann (1810-1856)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 12.00
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897): Violin Sonata no.3 in D minor op.108
  • 1I. Allegro08:07
  • 2II. Adagio04:27
  • 3III. Un poco presto e con sentimento02:54
  • 4IV. Presto agitato05:39
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856): Three Romances op.94
  • 5I. Nicht schnell03:13
  • 6II. Einfach, innig03:56
  • 7III. Nicht schnell04:09
  • Brahms: Violin Sonata no.2 in A major op.100
  • 8I. Allegro amabile07:43
  • 9II. Andante tranquillo - Vivace05:49
  • 10III. Allegretto grazioso (quasi Andante)05:28
  • Albert Dietrich (1829-1908), Brahms, Schumann: F.A.E. Sonata (“Frei aber einsam” - Joseph Joachim gewidmet)
  • 11I. Allegro11:51
  • 12II. Intermezzo Bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell02:24
  • 13III. Allegro04:43
  • 14IV. Finale Markiertes, ziemlich lebhaftes Tempo07:19
  • Total Runtime01:17:42

Info for Brahms, Schumann & Dietrich: Violin Sonatas Op. 100 & 108

A 19th-century ‘trio sonata’. Isabelle Faust and Alexander Melnikov have already given us an acclaimed version Brahms’s First Violin Sonata, in 2007. They now complete the cycle with the other two sonatas of 1886 and 1888, and add a fascinating rarity dating from 35 years earlier: the ‘F-A-E’ Sonata, a collaborative effort by three composers in honour of the great violinist Joachim, who had to guess who had written which movement! He did so with ease, for the Scherzo is as eminently Brahmsian as the Intermezzo and Finale are Schumannesque. Alexander Melnikov will be contributing his take on a score his mother gave him that belonged to Sviatoslav Richter in September BBC Music Magazine.

Isabelle Faust, violin
Alexander Melnikov, piano

No biography found.

Booklet for Brahms, Schumann & Dietrich: Violin Sonatas Op. 100 & 108

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO