Album info



Label: InFiné

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 13.50
  • Moondog (1916 - 1999):
  • 1Für Fritz (Chaconne in A Minor)01:43
  • Emilie Levienaise-Farrouch:
  • 2Louella01:40
  • Bryce Dessner (b. 1976):
  • 3Ornament 201:52
  • 4Ornament 306:32
  • Philip Glass (b. 1937):
  • 5Etude No. 902:21
  • William Susman (b. 1960):
  • 6Quiet Rhythms: Prologue and Action No. 904:47
  • Meredith Monk (b. 1942):
  • 7Railroad (Travel Song)02:15
  • Michael Nyman (b. 1944):
  • 8The Heart Asks Pleasure First03:54
  • Hans Otte (1926 - 2007):
  • 9Das Buch der Klänge, Pt. 207:25
  • Nico Muhly (b. 1981):
  • 10Hudson Cycle03:03
  • Gavin Bryars (b. 1943):
  • 11Ramble On Cortona08:28
  • Moondog:
  • 12Elf Dance01:36
  • Wim Mertens (b. 1953):
  • 13Struggle for Pleasure06:18
  • Pēteris Vasks (b. 1946):
  • 14Baltā ainava09:10
  • Total Runtime01:01:04

Info for Inland

The title of this new album by Vanessa Wagner refers to John Cage’s Imaginary Landscape (1939), one of the first works to use electronic devices. After all, when Cage wrote his manifesto The Future of Music in the late 1930s, he already knew that the merging of written and electronic music would bear exquisite fruits. The album is the lone protuberance from 2016 album Statea, on which Wagner, alongside producer Murcof (she on the piano, him manning the machines), reinterpreted pieces from the fathers of minimalism: Arvo Pärt, Philip Glass, Morton Feldman, Erik Satie, or John Cage. The same secret conversation between the artist, the piano, and contemporary music is now continuing on Inland. Making more with less, the album turns long harmonies into multicolored prisms, miniature detailed embroidery, sighs and breaths, syncopated or restrained chants. In this brave new world, sounds exist for themselves, and silence comes to life.

Vanessa Wagner, piano

Vanessa Wagner
A highly individual musician, Vanessa Wagner is characterised by her sensitive and thoughtful playing, the richness of her tone colour, and her artistic choices, which prompt her to traverse the di erent repertories, from that of the fortepiano (which she plays on period instruments) to the music of our time, notably that of Pascal Dusapin and François Meïmoun, both of whom have dedicated several pieces to her. After obtaining a Premier Prix at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris in Dominique Merlet’s class and a postgraduate diploma in the class of Jean-François Heisser, she entered the International Piano Academy Lake Como, where she received the guidance of such great masters as Leon Fleisher, Dmitri Bashkirov, Murray Perahia, Fou Ts’ong and Alexis Weissenberg.

Since being named ‘Solo Instrumental Discovery of the Year’ at the Victoires de la Musique in 1999, Vanessa Wagner has appeared with the leading international orchestras and conductors.

She is also a sought-after chamber music partner, and often shares the concert platform with her musician friends, notably Augustin Dumay, with whom she has a privileged partnership, the pianists Marie Vermeulin, Cédric Tiberghien and Wilhem Latchoumia, and Murcof, a renowned musician on the electro scene.

Vanessa Wagner is artistic director of the Festival de Chambord and has been appointed Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO