Cover Brahms: Symphonies 3 and 4

Album info



Label: Australian Broadcasting Corp (ABC)

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Orchestral

Artist: Australian Chamber Orchestra & Richard Tognetti

Composer: Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Johannes Brahms (1833 - 1897): Symphony No. 3 in F Major, Op. 90
  • 1Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 3 in F Major, Op. 90: 1. Allegro con brio13:46
  • 2Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 3 in F Major, Op. 90: 2. Andante09:55
  • 3Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 3 in F Major, Op. 90: 3. Poco allegretto06:44
  • 4Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 3 in F Major, Op. 90: 4. Allegro09:01
  • Symphony No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 98:
  • 5Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 98: 1. Allegro non troppo12:50
  • 6Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 98: 2. Andante moderato11:12
  • 7Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 98: 3. Allegro giocoso05:55
  • 8Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 98: 4. Allegro energico e passionato09:33
  • Total Runtime01:18:56

Info for Brahms: Symphonies 3 and 4

In his Third Symphony, Brahms continues to explore the conflict of passion and order which grips us from its first powerful gesture. He strikes an even more personal note, embroidering this lyrical work with his musical motto: "free but happy." Passion turns to peace in the symphony’s tranquil final pages.

As for his Symphony no. 4, few works come close to this towering achievement, the perfect meeting of thought and feeling, and the distillation of Brahms’s mastery of the genre. Unfurling restlessly from its volatile first movement, the Fourth passes through autumnal melancholy and explosive joy. The finale is an ever-evolving set of variations, each more majestic than the last.

"If there’s a better chamber orchestra in the world today, I haven’t heard it.” (The Guardian, UK)

“Richard Tognetti is one of the most characterful, incisive and impassioned violinists to be heard today.” (The Daily Telegraph, UK)

Australian Chamber Orchestra
Richard Tognetti, conductor

Australian Chamber Orchestra
Founded by cellist John Painter in 1975, the 17-piece string orchestra lives and breathes music, making waves around the world for explosive performances and brave interpretations. Led by Artistic Director Richard Tognetti since 1990, the ACO embrace celebrated classics alongside new commissions, and adventurous cross-artform collaborations. They perform more than 100 concerts across Australia each year, all while maintaining an international touring schedule that finds them in many of the world’s greatest concert halls including Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw, London’s Barbican Centre and Royal Festival Hall, Vienna’s Musikverein, New York’s Carnegie Hall and Frankfurt’s Alte Oper.

The Orchestra regularly collaborates on projects with musicians and other artists who share their ideology, and co-create unique, hybrid productions that have toured around the world. The Orchestra also has an active recording program across CD, vinyl and digital formats, and film or stream many concerts live for audiences around the world to enjoy.

The ACO also support the development of young talent around Australian through a series of educations programs designed to inspire and enable the next generation of musicians and music lovers.

Booklet for Brahms: Symphonies 3 and 4

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO