Bach: Sonatas & Partitas for solo violin, vol.2 Isabelle Faust

Cover Bach: Sonatas & Partitas for solo violin, vol.2

Album info



Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 12.00
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750): Sonata I BWV 1001 in G Minor
  • 1I. Adagio03:50
  • 2II. Fuga. Allegro04:33
  • 3III. Siciliana02:31
  • 4IV. Presto03:11
  • Partita I BWV 1002 in B Minor
  • 5I. Allemanda04:52
  • 6II. Double02:19
  • 7III. Corrente02:58
  • 8IV. Double03:11
  • 9V. Sarabande03:00
  • 10VI. Double02:10
  • 11VII. Tempo di Borea02:55
  • 12VIII. Double03:10
  • Sonata II BWV 1003 in A Minor
  • 13I. Grave04:10
  • 14II. Fuga07:55
  • 15III. Andante04:07
  • 16IV. Allegro05:29
  • Total Runtime01:00:21

Info for Bach: Sonatas & Partitas for solo violin, vol.2

Isabelle Faust hit the Classical charts earlier this year with her mesmerising recording of Beethoven and Berg with Claudio Abbado. She followed up with some welcome live appearances here in the UK, which included the Brahms' concerto at the Barbican with frequent collaborators Jiri Belohlavek and the BBCSO.

Isabelle's recordings have won prizes since her harmonia mundi debut in 1997 which earned her a Gramophone Young Artist Award. In 2010 her Beethoven Violin Sonatas with Alexander Melnikov also won. The afore-mentioned Beethoven-Berg has been awarded Gramophone Recording of the Month, Daily Telegraph Classical CD of the Week, Times CD of the Week, Classic FM Disc of the Week, Sunday Times CD of the Week, BBC Music Magazine Recording of the Month and CD Review Disc of the Week.

Now she returns to J.S. Bach for a second volume of what Andrew McGregor described in such glowing terms: 'there’s some of the best-judged ornamentation I’ve heard in repeated passages. The recording is utterly self-effacing, in just the right way, and my only complaint is that the job’s half done...I’m impatient for the rest! Harmonia Mundi is the label, it’s released this coming Monday, and the notes are excellent as well.' CD Review, BBC Radio 3, 27 March 2010

Isabelle is shortlisted for the Gramophone Best Artist Award 2012. She returns to Wigmore Hall in October with Alexander Melnikov and Jean-Guihen Queyras.

“Faust’s playing of these extraordinary pieces of surpassing musical interest and lyrical content sits comfortably at the uppermost echelons of the league table … Faust is at her heart a poetic player with a warm sound, a tightly controlled vibrato and an athletic technique … A rewardingly stimulating release, beautifully recorded.” (International Record Review)

“She creates a feeling that, although there is a deep musical understanding behind her performance in which she has quiet confidence, there is no overarching ego trying to make the intricate counterpoint bend to her will.” (Gramophone)

“In some of the most challenging violin music ever written, she displays masterly technique...Despite some daring tempos, Faust retains a totally secure pulse through all the technical contortions. She places admirable faith in Bach's fair copy of the score...[and] in alluringly sensitive in gentler movement.” (BBC Music Magazin)

Isabelle Faust, violin

No biography found.

Booklet for Bach: Sonatas & Partitas for solo violin, vol.2

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO