Beethoven: Cantata on the Death of Emperor Joseph II - Symphony No. 2 San Francisco Symphony & Michael Tilson Thomas

Album info



Label: SFS Media

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 14.00
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 - 1827): Cantata on the death of the Emperor Joseph II, WoO 87:
  • 1I. Coro: Todt, stohnt es durch die ode Nacht! (Soprano, Alto, Tenor, Bass, Chorus)07:45
  • 2II. Recitativo: Ein Ungeheuer, sein Name Fanatismus (Bass)01:30
  • 3III. Aria: Da kam Joseph, mit Gottes Starke (Bass) -04:44
  • 4IV. Aria con coro: Da stiegen die Menschen an's Licht (Soprano, Chorus)05:34
  • 5V. Recitativo: Er schlaft von den Sorgen seiner Welten entladen (Soprano)02:32
  • 6VI. Aria: Hier schlummert seinen stillen Frieden (Soprano) -07:38
  • 7VII. Coro: Todt, stohnt es durch die ode Nacht! (Soprano, Alto, Tenor, Bass, Chorus)08:53
  • Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 36:
  • 8I. Adagio molto - Allegro molto12:59
  • 9II. Larghetto11:26
  • 10III. Scherzo: Allegro03:41
  • 11IV. Allegro molto06:42
  • Total Runtime01:13:24

Info for Beethoven: Cantata on the Death of Emperor Joseph II - Symphony No. 2

Beethoven's colossal Cantata on the Death of Emperor Joseph II for chorus, soloists, and orchestra and his playful, upbeat Second Symphony combine on this powerful new recording from Michael Tilson Thomas and the Grammy Award-winning San Francisco Symphony and Chorus. Rarely performed and recorded, this gripping and profoundly moving funeral cantata proved a revelation during the Symphony's May 2013 Beethoven Project. The recording features the Symphony, Chorus, and a glorious solo quartet - soprano Sally Matthews, mezzo-soprano Tamara Mumford, tenor Barry Banks, and bass-baritone Andrew Foster-Williams - all conducted by MTT. Presented in 96kHz, 24bit, this album is the latest addition to the San Francisco Symphony's ever growing collection of Beethoven recordings.

This album continues MTT and the San Francisco Symphony's ongoing exploration of the music of Beethoven. Previously SFS Media released Beethoven: Symphony No. 9, Beethoven: Leonore Overture No. 3 and Symphony No. 7, and Beethoven: Symphony No. 5 and Piano Concerto No. 4 with Emanuel Ax. MTT also led a journey through Beethoven's music in Keeping Score: Beethoven's Eroica.

“Tilson Thomas and what sounds like a large body of San Franciscans, both choral and orchestral, manage the dynamic contrasts very well. Andrew Foster-Williams gives a vivid account...Sally Matthews sustains the long phrases with warm, consolatory tone.” (Gramophone Magazine)

“Tilson Thomas’s San Francisco musicians give it a heartfelt and graceful performance, with Andrew Foster-Williams particularly good evoking the ogre of “Fanaticism” that Joseph II allegedly banished. Plus, a lithe account of Beethoven’s Second Symphony.” (The Times)

Sally Matthews, soprano
Barry Banks, tenor
Tamara Mumford, mezzo-soprano
Andrew Foster-Williams, bass-baritone
San Francisco Symphony Chorus
San Francisco Symphony
Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor

Recorded May 2-3, 2013 at Davies Symphony Hall, San Francisco

No albums found.

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO