Return To Chicago (Live) Vladimir Horowitz

Cover Return To Chicago (Live)

Album info



Label: Deutsche Grammophon (DG)

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Artist: Vladimir Horowitz

Composer: Giuseppe Scarlatti (1685–1757), Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791), Alexander Scriabin (1872–1915), Robert Schumann (1810–1856), Franz Liszt (1811–1886), Frédéric Chopin (1810–1849), Robert Schumann (1810–1856)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Giuseppe Scarlatti (1685–1757): Sonata In E Major, Kk.380
  • 1Sonata In E Major, Kk.38004:15
  • Sonata In E Major, Kk.135
  • 2Sonata In E Major, Kk.13504:18
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791): Adagio In B Minor, K.540
  • 3Adagio In B Minor, K.54006:03
  • Rondo In D Major, K.485
  • 4Rondo In D Major, K.48505:53
  • Piano Sonata No.10 In C Major, K.330
  • 51. Allegro moderato06:09
  • 62. Andante cantabile05:57
  • 73. Allegretto05:07
  • Alexander Scriabin (1872–1915): Etude In C Sharp Minor, Op.2 No.1
  • 8Etude In C Sharp Minor, Op.2 No.102:40
  • Etude In D Sharp Minor, Op.8 No.12
  • 9Etude In D Sharp Minor, Op.8 No.1202:31
  • Robert Schumann (1810–1856): Arabeske in C, Op.18
  • 10Arabeske in C, Op.1807:08
  • Franz Liszt (1811–1886): Années de pèlerinage: 2ème année: Italie, S.161
  • 115. Sonetto 104 del Petrarca05:53
  • Soirées de Vienne: 9 Valses-Caprices After Schubert, S.427
  • 12No.6 In A Minor06:51
  • Frédéric Chopin (1810–1849): Mazurka No.41 In C Sharp Minor, Op.63 No.3
  • 13Mazurka No.41 In C Sharp Minor, Op.63 No.301:59
  • Mazurka No.7 In F Minor, Op.7 No.3
  • 14Mazurka No.7 In F Minor, Op.7 No.302:33
  • Scherzo No.1 In B Minor, Op.20
  • 15Scherzo No.1 In B Minor, Op.2008:20
  • Robert Schumann (1810–1856): Kinderszenen, Op.15
  • 167. Träumerei02:26
  • Moritz Moszkowski (1854-1925): Morceaux caractéristiques
  • 17Étincelles, Morceau caractéristique, Op.36 No.603:03
  • RadioInterview 1 - Broadcast on WFMT on 25 October 1986
  • 18Horowitz Interview With Norman Pellegrini08:37
  • RadioInterview 2 - Broadcast on WFMT on 30 October 1974
  • 19Horowitz Interview With Thomas Willis32:02
  • Total Runtime02:01:45

Info for Return To Chicago (Live)

On 26 October 1986 Vladimir Horowitz gave his final recital in Chicago’s Orchestra Hall. This is its world-premiere release – Deutsche Grammophon are privileged to be able to release one of his late concerts, from Chicago in 1986, where we hear him in his element, before a live audience.

The programme is typical late Horowitz, starting with two Scarlatti sonatas before revisting favourite Mozart and Scriabin. The second half brings new repertoire to the DG discography (the Schumann Arabesque and a Chopin Mazurka – 10 minutes of new Horowitz!), before ending with a Chopin Scherzo and two evergreen encores. And then … two inimitable interviews with the artist, full of fun, wit and naughtiness – mostly off-subject (quite a lot about Clementi) but fascinating all the same.

„When I sit down at the keyboard I never know how I will play something. I play the way I feel at that moment. The head, the intellect is only the controlling factor of music-making. It is not the guide. The guide is your feelings.“ (Vladimir Horowitz)

… a lyrical sensitivity, a limpid and beautifully proportioned pianism, a seamless, purling legato of the sort no other pianist can duplicate“ (Chicago Tribune, review of the 1986 recital)

Vladimir Horowitz, piano

No biography found.

Booklet for Return To Chicago (Live)

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO