Vladimir Horowitz in Recital at Constitution Hall, Washington D. C., April 22, 1979 Vladimir Horowitz

Album info



Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Opening Applause to Horowitz Recital of April 22, 197900:24
  • Muzio Clementi (1752-1832)
  • 2I. Allegro con spirito10:10
  • 3II. Adagio e cantabile, con espressione06:02
  • 4III. Presto06:18
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
  • 5No. 1, Einfach01:58
  • 6No. 2, Sehr rasch und leicht00:54
  • 7No. 3, Noch rascher03:02
  • 8No. 4, Hastig01:43
  • 9No. 5, Nach und nach immer lebhafter und stärker02:08
  • 10No. 6, Einfach und zart01:50
  • 11No. 7, Intermezzo02:49
  • 12No. 8, Innig02:38
  • 13No. 9, Sehr lebhaft01:51
  • 14No. 10, Mit einigem Pomp01:28
  • 15No. 11, Zum Beschluß05:45
  • 16Post Intermission Applause to Horowitz Recital of April 22, 197900:12
  • Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943)
  • 17Etudes-tableaux, Op. 39: No. 5 in E-Flat Minor04:58
  • 187 Morceaux de salon, Op. 10: No. 3, Barcarolle in G Minor03:57
  • 197 Morceaux de salon, Op. 10: No. 5, Humoresque in G Major03:44
  • Franz Liszt (1811-1886)
  • 20Consolations, S. 172: No. 3 in D-Flat Major04:58
  • 21Mephisto Waltz No. 1, S. 51412:17
  • Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849)
  • 22Waltzes, Op. 64: No. 2 in C-Sharp Minor03:33
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
  • 23Kinderszenen, Op. 15: No. 7, Träumerei02:50
  • Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943)
  • 24Polka de W.R.04:43
  • Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849)
  • 25Polonaise in A-Flat Major, Op. 53 Heroic07:36
  • Total Runtime01:37:48

Info for Vladimir Horowitz in Recital at Constitution Hall, Washington D. C., April 22, 1979

After the overwhelming success of Vladimir Horowitz live at Carnegie Hall, Sony Classical presents Vladimir Horowitz: The Unreleased Live Recordings. This edition takes you on tour with the legendary pianist from his home town of New York to the great halls of the USA, from New Haven to Chicago, Washington D.C., Philadelphia, Boston and beyond.

2015 marks a half-century since Vladimir Horowitz's return to the concert stage on May 9, 1965 after a twelve-year absence, reaffirming his status as an iconic pianist who mesmerized audiences and fellow musicians alike throughout his long and turbulent career.

Every time Horowitz walked on stage, a palpable sense of anticipation and excitement filled the air. His singular virtuosity, bottomless palette of colors and nuances, and ability to gauge the acoustics of a hall for maximum impact created a communicative bond between himself and his public that made every performance unique from moment to moment, and he never played a piece the same way twice. Whenever possible, Columbia and RCA taped Horowitz in concert. The recordings provided the basis for commercial releases approved by the pianist during his lifetime. These recitals have now been painstakingly restored to their complete, unedited state from the best possible source material. Most of the original tapes were stored, untouched in Sony's Iron Mountain archives, and sound as vibrant and lifelike as they did to those lucky audience members fortunate enough to be present.

This new edition presents Vladimir Horowitz’s musical artistry, live and unedited in state-of-the art 96 KHz mastering.

Vladimir Horowitz, piano

Digitally remastered

No biography found.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO